We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ponderosa Gardens Motel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Paradise
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We were recently relocated to this gorgeous motel by our insurance company. We were expecting a 3 week stay which was stretched to 5 weeks. We couldn't be happier. Our family had stayed here prior on all their visits from Santa Barbara (a hard to beat location itself) Our family of five was put into the SPACIOUS suite with our teenage son in the adjoining room. The suite is huge, with a WIDE open floor plan, 3 comfortable couches, a big screen TV (viewable from all parts of the room) a large bathroom with glorious jacuzzi tub, a FULLY stocked kitchen with often restocked dish soap and paper towels, excellent maid staff; that would leave me extra dish towels and courteous notes, the grounds here are meticulously manicured and the pool clean and maintained every three days!!! We were provided tasty continental breakfasts daily if wanted, and even 10% off coupons to local restaurants!!! The motel is family owned and operated and you can see the pride and care with which they maintain their lovely motel. We even had a large respectful party for our daughter and all the guests were flabbergasted by the sheer size and gracious accommodations of this suite. We have appreciated EACH day we have been blessed to stay at the beautiful Ponderosa Gardens Motel. Thank you owners, all spectacular staff, and I suppose AAA for lodging us there!!! Sincerely, Jacobsen Family

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jacquelineann13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    27
    4
    7
    1
See reviews for
28
31
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We have stayed here over 10 times. It's our go to whenever we go home to visit. It's always clean and quiet even when they're booked. The staff is incredible and will go out of their way to help you. There's a great free breakfast and laundry on site. Even though we are technically "locals" we are tourists and they treat you like family. Cant say enough great things about the grounds (gorgeous) the pool (immaculate) the gift shop (adorable)
We are so looking forward to our return trip in June for some more Paradise love!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Ponderosa Gardens fits the description with manicured lawns and landscaping that charms and soothes. Each room I stayed had a patio with a table and chairs. As an older motel with many upgrades such as motion light switches and extra sinks made for a very nice stay. The two rooms were mirrors of each other, large and spacious. A desk AND table in one, just a table with two chairs int he other, but I think that room had a larger couch. YES a love seat, very comfortable, and all very clean and fresh smelling.

I liked the flat screen in each room, and they remodeled the bathrooms so they were as modern as possible but some old fixtures, but all was in good working order. A quiet and efficient A/C Heater I barely used, and quiet neighbors or none were appreciated. Great little soaps and shampoos, a gift shop up front, and very good breakfast goodies.

the desk staff were patient and friendly. They do things a bit differently but are very efficient, and when I left my clothes bag in the room, they called me. I was in the woods and when I got out the phone message was waiting for me, so I stayed the second night. A nice town to stay, and based my decision to try them on the recommendation of the restaurant I ate, and the Gardens have deals with a couple or more of restaurants in town close by and their local knowledge is great for the drifter (me).

Room Tip: The buildings are not stacked but are spread out so you have options, but if you bring a pet, the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miwok6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Me and my family had a wonderful stay. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub. The gardens were beautiful. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. The price is amazing, I would recommend ponderosa gardens to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariposamom123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The Paradise Gardens Motel in which my wife and I have stayed in for a total of five visits each up to a week in duration over the last 6 months ihave been uniformly excellent. The Ponderosa Gardens Motel is equal in quality and service to the Best Western in Oakhurst, Ca. for those of you who have been to Oakhurst, Ca. Both are to be found off the town's main thoroughfare set back far enough that you never ever hear a sound from traffic. Both offer fabulous rooms with views of the mountains and forests - Both have great heated pools. I was amazed at the fact we were able to have a room for less that $90 with tax ( we are seniors & belong to AARP / AAA.

I highly recommend both - John & Nan Marshall

Room Tip: We always stay in the back facing the forest - we have two small dachshunds and they can run in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean Francois M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Here for just one night, we were happy we'd followed the recommendation of friends to stay at the Ponderosa instead of a chain motel. The grounds are attractive, with picnic tables, and the units are attached but have the feel of cabins. We asked for a handicapped accessible room as I'm using crutches, and found it large enough to maneuver my knee walker easily. This wasn't luxurious, but it was clean and very comfortable, and the fridge was appreciated. We will stay there again next time we're in the area.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JC-OMCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

My dad is in assisted living in Paradise, so we've stayed at the Ponderosa Gardens many times over the last 10 years. It's been sort of a family tradition, and we've enjoyed the family atmosphere along with the lovely setting. When we stayed there in February this year (2014), we questioned why we came back, and vowed not to return. The rooms are smelly, you don't want to touch the bedspread, towels are thin, a/c loud…when it worked. The 'continental breakfast' is barely adequate (we passed) and had to go to the desk to get an additional blanket. It's no longer the only choice in town. We stayed one night (it was late) and checked out.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank culturevulture4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise
1.2 mi away
Paradise Lodge
Paradise Lodge
#2 of 7 in Paradise
84 reviews
10.3 mi away
Oxford Suites Chico
Oxford Suites Chico
#1 of 17 in Chico
995 reviews
11.9 mi away
Quality Inn, Near Chico State
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#8 of 17 in Chico
530 reviews
10.4 mi away
Courtyard Chico
Courtyard Chico
#3 of 17 in Chico
141 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel Diamond
Hotel Diamond
#2 of 17 in Chico
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponderosa Gardens Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponderosa Gardens Motel

Property: Ponderosa Gardens Motel
Address: 7010 Skyway, Paradise, CA 95969-3910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Paradise
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ponderosa Gardens Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your Ponderosa Gardens Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponderosa Gardens Hotel Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing