We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average = 'good' in this case”
Review of Paradise Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paradise Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“average = 'good' in this case”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Let's face it, there are no real options here, and if I do this part of CA again, I will probably stay in Chico where at least there is something interesting to see and do around the hotel. If you are flying into Sacramento and already renting a car, you should too. A 30 minute drive on the Skyway. As for Comfort Paradise itself, it is a clean honest place, a decent value, and the staff was friendly, helpful. Wifi was fine for me. Fridge and micro in room is a plus. Breakfast is slightly below par; I'd take a Fairfield Inn. Stayed back side of hotel away from moderate traffic Clark Road. Odd bath layout with sink & counter in main room.

Room Tip: ask for backside of hotel facing woods
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dede M, Owner at Paradise Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for your review. We take pride in our facility and try to make our guests feel at home. We hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    37
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
36
19
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tomball, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is well located on Clark Road on the south side of Paradise. We found the room was clean and the staff was helpful and friendly. The breakfast was good and included in the price of the room. A great value!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank kwhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dede M, Owner at Paradise Lodge, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review. We truly care about our guests' experiences and appreciate your patronage. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My son and I stayed here for my little sisters wedding. It is clean and well kept. The breakfast is a basic continental, but good for the price! (free;)) We got a 2 queen bed on the third floor, and woke up each morning to the sunrise coming over the trees. Beautiful! Definitely good for a short stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeni F, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Lodge, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your stay with us! We never tire of the beautiful surrounding Sierra foothills and feel so fortunate to have this special spot to welcome guests. We hope you will visit again on your next visit to Paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Our room was on the third floor with a view of the pines at the back of the property. I would rate the staff here as 4 Star; not only courteous but smiling and friendly. Plus they helped me retrieve a lost item without the drama that sometimes goes with that scenario. The property was clean and seemed well maintained. The exceptions were the somewhat worn furniture in the room and inconsistent water temp in the shower. The mattress is due for replacement. The linens were in line with this type of hotel. The breakfast was also what you would expect at a property of this type; the hot items were marginal but there was enough of bagels cereal and yogurt that you could pass on the hot things and have a good start to the day. I would have liked to see trays offered so you could schlep your breakfast back to the room as the seating in this area is very tight.

Room Tip: We liked the view of the pine trees from our third floor room. As always, away from elevators and ic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvonSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeni F, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide this complimentary review of our team members! They are hardworking and it's always rewarding to hear they are appreciated. Your comment about the bed is well taken - we're hoping to have new mattresses in all the guest rooms by this fall. Also, thank you also for pointing out that there wasn't a tray available for you to take your breakfast to your room - we do provide some, but maybe not enough. We'll look into that! Thanks again for your input, we appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights during a business trip nearby. The hotel staff, for the most part, was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and other then the pillows, bed was comfortable.
My only complaint here is the free breakfast they provide. The omelets and sausage patty they served every morning was frozen food that was microwaved and set out for guests. However, they did give you the option of make it yourself Belgian waffles that weren’t too bad at all.
Overall, a nice place to stay, clean and comfortable. Would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Don't eat the microwaved breakfast here. Go down the street to the Black Bear Diner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElOsoGuapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeni F, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Lodge, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a review of your stay at our Comfort Inn. We also like a cooked to order breakfast from the Black Bear Diner, good choice! Unfortunately, we just don't have the space to prepare that extensive of a breakfast at the hotel. Glad to hear the Belgian waffles were a good option for you, they are definitely a customer favorite! We hope that you will keep our friendly, helpful service in mind and consider us again on your next trip to Paradise. Thanks again, we appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley, CA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Comfort Inn in Paradise is the best place to stay when you're either passing through or needing a place to stay when your sister's house is overflowing with other family. It's pretty new, the beds are very firm; staff is really sincerely helpful, place is clean, and TV's work just fine. The Clark Street side of the hotel suffers from the lights of the hotel trying to shine through the blackout curtains, and can have parking lot noise; the back side of the hotel is quieter and darker. We asked for a non-connecting room on the back side of the hotel and got it! Pool in the middle of the parking lot is oddly located and without much landscaping around it to block the view of drivers by. Exercise room is clean and offers the basics for equipment. Unless you're fussy like my husband, who wants Peet's coffee and fresh scrambled egg and fruit salad, breakfast is just fine, offering waffles, hb eggs, yogurt, bagels to toast, cereal, coffee, etc. The breakfast room gets crowded, but they have trays so you can take your breakfast back to your room and enjoy your meal in private.
Most of the other guests are very friendly, too -- lots of not necessarily solicited elevator conversations about visiting family and where they are headed on their journeys.

Room Tip: back side of the hotel has less night-time light; ask for non-connecting room to avoid noise from yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dappledsunlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeni F, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Lodge, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
What a great review, thank you very much! We really appreciate that you took the time to provide so many useful details for our future guests. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you'll visit again on your next trip to Paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed in beautiful suite with visiting children and grandchildren. Would recommend to anyone traveling to Paradise. WE got two double/double rooms with adjoining doors, so the 4 granddaughters slept in one room, the four adults in the other. Made the experience one of "togetherness" without having us all on top of one another. So nice!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeni F, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Lodge, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your Christmas visit to Paradise. We know it can be challenging for a large family to travel together and are glad that our connecting rooms accommodated your family comfortably! Thank you for sharing your comments - we look forward to accommodating you again on a future visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise
10.6 mi away
Oxford Suites Chico
10.6 mi away
Courtyard Chico
Courtyard Chico
#4 of 17 in Chico
142 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hotel Diamond
Hotel Diamond
#2 of 17 in Chico
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#8 of 17 in Chico
539 reviews
10.6 mi away
Residence Inn Chico
Residence Inn Chico
#5 of 17 in Chico
108 reviews
17.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Oroville Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Lodge

Property: Paradise Lodge
Address: 5475 Clark Rd, Paradise, CA 95969-6327 (Formerly Comfort Inn Central)
Location: United States > California > Paradise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Paradise Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradise Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Central Hotel Paradise
Comfort Inn Paradise
Paradise Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing