We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good Korean "fast" food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of So Gong Dong Tofu House

So Gong Dong Tofu House
Ranked #81 of 355 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Cuisines: Asian, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
175 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“very good Korean "fast" food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Then kim chee is very good, endless little plates to nibble from while you wait for your bibimbot. Plenty of vegetarian choices. The bibimbot with marinated pork is very good. Pretty full at lunch time. One of my family's obligated stops for lunch when we're in Palo Alto.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JoseDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    24
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Some korean friends suggested me this place for dinner. Friendly staff and the food was absolutely great! I will definitely be back next time I'm in the Bay area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank manemarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Fun, yummy and unexpected -- seven side dishes included with meal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful food and prompt, friendly service. Hubby and I especially loved the tofu yache dolsot bibimbob -- rice, tofu, egg and veg sizzling in cast iron bowl. Add some hot sauce for extra zing. A treat for the senses, and who wouldn't welcome the opportunity to say "I'll have the BiBimBot".

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PeopleSkillsLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“5-6 great vegetarian options in a Korean restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

1) This is one of a rare places to get good vegetarian Korean places with an assortment of side dishes that are delicious. I ordered the Hot vegetable dumpling tofu soup which was boiling hot and spicy. The seaweed side dish which came with this dish was spicy and unique. This will be my fave Korean place for the soup (Have to try out the bibimbob dish another time)

2) Service was quick and courteous. They accommodated special orders for the soup without the egg and tofu. The place was not packed on a Sunday evening. This place is way way better than the Sudam restaurant on the corner of ElCamino and San Antonio Road in the village center.

The other place I frequent is Kang Nam Tofu House in Milpitas which has slightly higher prices (maybe for the free softy ice cream they provide at the end) and service which is inconsistent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank saarthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Korean food done well”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

PROS:
- Great selection of their Hot Tofu Soups, Bibimbap and Japchae dishes
- Friendly staff
- Prices are fair
- Decent size area to accommodate dining guests

CONS:
- None so far

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed So Gong Dong Tofu House also viewed

 

Been to So Gong Dong Tofu House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing