We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Palo Alto central” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Palo Alto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Palo Alto central”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

My company, headquartered in Palo Alto, put me up at the Crown Plaza Cabana Palo Alto for 8 days. The location and staff are two key attributes of this hotel. The front desk staff will make sure you're welcomed and taken care of during your stay and will be very helpful in guiding you to points of interest around town. The restaurant staff are equally customer oriented.

My stay included the breakfast buffet. The food was well prepared but the menu was EXACTLY the same each and every day. I got sick of it after a week. Do yourself a favor and order off the menu every now and then. The Eggs Benedict was very good.

The Beatles stayed here in the 60s apparently. Not quite a selling point for me. The decor inside is pleasant and not as dated as the hotel itself but again the key attraction isn't the hotel but rather its location near all the Palo Alto tech companies.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sojoerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Palo Alto, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Sojoerner,

Thank you for the comments regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Cabana Hotel. We value all guest feedback, and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and in particular that you found the staff to be so helpful. We take great pride in the service we provide, and look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.

Sincerely,
David Issel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    168
    97
    43
    21
See reviews for
93
57
36
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is typical four-star business travel/conference style. If you're staying here, it's probably for one of those two reasons. Definitely in good condition and clean. Some might call it a little dated, but it didn't appear old in anyway. I'd definitely recommend it at the right price, but there's no reason to pay extra to stay here if another comparable hotel is less. The hotel also has a nice-looking pool that's probably fun in the spring and summer. Free coffee and orange juice at the restaurant at breakfast.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms by the pool are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is a really nice looking hotel, with a touch of class in appearance from the outside. The rooms are a little stuck in the 80s but are clean, have decent amenities, and the front desk was efficient and friendly. Mine had a balcony, which was nice. The bar was pleasant but a little lacking in atmosphere, and the pool looked nice but it was February so not a great time to try it.

I think the biggest problem with this place is that local walking distance amenities are pretty thin on the ground, there are a few restaurants but no bars or grocery shops etc, so the local area is a little soulless. One of the local malls is being rebuilt so that should improve later this year.

It was a little expensive for the price but I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HegsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Palo Alto, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear HegsUK,

Thank you for the comments regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Cabana Hotel. We appreciate the feedback, and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Please do return in the summer, when the pool is fully open - it's the largest pool in the area and we have added extra amenities and food and beverage service during the summer. We look forward to being of service on a future visit.

Sincerely,
David Issel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

The hotel is little bit old, but the room is OK. My room is on the first floor they check me in for 2 queen bed room and ask them what the reason for 2 bed instead of 1 king, they said because that's what i had book. The bed is really nice and the sheet is very comfortable, the pillows are great. The only complaint is the breakfast is too pricey for what they served ($18.95).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank opdragon11754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Palo Alto, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear opdragon11754,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Cabana Hotel. I'm pleased to read that you found the beds so comfortable. We are one of the first Crowne Plaza Hotels to implement the brand new bedding upgrade program and it really does make for a great nights sleep! We look forward to being of service on a future visit.

Sincerely,
David Issel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have spent the last year staying here when traveling to Palo Alto for work. It has become my home away from home. The staff is friendly and attentive. The rooms are comfortable and updated. The gym is very adequate and the pool area is nice (should you have time to use it). All of this combined with the history of the hotel is why I continue to return for my business trips. I recommend this hotel over most of the others in the area.

Room Tip: Cabana Poolside rooms are very nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdpatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights while traveling on business. I found it really quite depressing, like other peoples' reviews - it's outdated, the decor really is from the 80s...and If you're paying $200+ per night you expect a bit more.

However this hotel is clean, and the bed was reasonably comfortable - BUT I wouldn't choose to stay here again, unless they gave it a make over and updated it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Palo Alto, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear KirstB,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to hear that you liked the cleanliness of our hotel. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. It is my regret that you found our facility to be outdated. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.


Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Very expensive for what it is - outdated, 1980s style interior and decor, reality is a disappointment vs the website.

Staff are good - but the hotel and its rooms are not at the standard you'd expect for the area or for the price.

There are many many better hotels in Palo Alto - stay there instead.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CityHopper007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Palo Alto, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear CityHopper007,

Thank you for posting your feedback about your stay at the Crowne Plaza Cabana Hotel. I was disappointed to read that you felt the hotel was outdated, but pleased to see that you felt the staff service was good. I did want to let you know that all rooms at the hotel were completely renovated in 2010 and 2011, and we have several distinctly different sections of the hotel. We take your comments to heart, and I do hope you will give us another opportunity to shine on a future visit.

Sincerely,
David Issel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
0.2 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palo Alto
1.2 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#9 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
3.4 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Palo Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Palo Alto

Property: Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Address: 4290 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306-4404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
#7 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Palo Alto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Silicon Valley has to offer at the beautiful and comfortable Crowne Plaza Cabaña Hotel & Resort. You will find legendary comfort and modern luxury at one of the most premiere locations in Palo Alto. Affordable elegance and hospitality are waiting for you. After spending a full day browsing Palo Alto s charming boutiques, art galleries, and Stanford University, only 2.5 miles away, retreat to one of our 194 guest rooms decorated with casual Californian elegance and superb views of the peninsula or of the Santa Cruz Mountains. Guests will experience the height of relaxation with our Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage Program, which includes: Comfortable New Beds, Sleep Amenities, and Guaranteed Wake-Up Call. Revitalize in the morning with our in-room coffee maker and complimentary gourmet coffee. The Crowne Plaza Cabaña Hotel & Resort is also proud to be one of the premiere certified 'Green' Hotels in Santa Clara County. Steeped in history, tradition and elegance, the Crowne Plaza Cabaña Hotel & Resort combines luxurious amenities of a vacation destination with all the high tech necessities of today's savvy business traveler. Surrounded by World Headquarters of HP, Google, SAP, Intuit, Sun Microsystems, & Yahoo, just to name a few. Come and enjoy what is the talk of the Silicon Valley, the 'new' Crowne Plaza Cabaña Hotel & Resort Palo Alto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Crowne Plaza Palo Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto Hotel Palo Alto
Palo Alto Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing