We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here because all of my normal haunts were booked or charging insane prices. The check-in clerk was exceedingly helpful. The room was clean. The king-sized bed was very comfortable. The complementary breakfast in the morning was ready early and had all of the things that most hotel chains offer. Absolutely no complaints. I would stay there again if I needed an affordable place near Palo Alto.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank WellWithMySoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    51
    62
    14
    17
See reviews for
35
27
24
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
202 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The place was tidy and clean. Friendly reception. It has standard complimentary breakfast. The end room was quiet and comfortable. Conveniently located near Stanford and good foods. Will certainly stay again.

Room Tip: End room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drKSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sneads Ferry, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

In general, I am always hesitant to book hotels with external room entrances, although many in this location are similar. I found the price to be quite comparable and the rooms were clean. In general it was quiet, although there was some noise from the neighboring room. My only negative was the shower, as there was very little water pressure. Other than that, I was very pleased and would stay here again should my travels take me to Palo Alto.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mdwaugh2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I had a pretty nice time at the Comfort Inn, Palo Alto. The hotel is located close to Stanford and Palo Alto transit stop. If you want to visit the city, take a No.22 bus and then a Caltrain to San Francisco. The bus station right in front of the hotel. There's a Starbucks just 2 mins away and there are several other restaurants and convenient stores as well. The complimentary breakfast can be a lot better. The rooms are clean. The front desk was extremely helpful. I really enjoyed my stay here :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor as there are elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Indun1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

In for a Stanford workshop, we found this was close by and surprisingly inexpensive compared with other lodgings. It is an older building, so rooms are small, yet fit all the usual conveniences, such as micro-wave. The wifi worked fine for us. The place was up to Comfort Inn cleanliness.

Unfortunately the room walls are not up to contemporary building, so I could hear the next person on the phone. There is a clumsily built ramp on the second floor over a hump with a too narrow step alongside. As a result people rolling carts made excess noise. The bed was okay but not up to comfort of latest Comfort lodgings, and all the pillows were too thick, no variety. And the heater thermostat was off, much hotter than the setting.

Room Tip: Upstairs toward the back. With this being an older building, I wouldn't want a downstairs room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pipilo2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palo Alto hotels

Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I liked the location of the hotel and the rate was relatively good for the area. Basic motel set up with two floors surrounding the parking lot. Rooms size are not large, but clean and contain coffee maker, refrigerator, and microwave with a large TV. Requested a quiet room and received one. WiFi is free, but unstable (was always logging in) and I liked the adjustable shower height. Only problem was service. Surely front desk clerk, maid did not clean my room (I was there two nights).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacham, Vermont
Level Contributor
95 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel was conveniently located near Stanford for a conference I was attending. The room was clean and the Internet worked well. My only issue was that to be able to use my corporate credit card to check in I was told I had to have someone in my business office fax the front desk that I was authorized to use the card. That was an inconvenient request and one I had never heard before. I ended up using my personal card to pay for the room even though the room was reserved with the corporate card. The beginning of my stay, therefore, did not start well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sterg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
0.4 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
617 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
922 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
#9 of 27 in Palo Alto
602 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Nest Palo Alto
The Nest Palo Alto
#17 of 27 in Palo Alto
48 reviews
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Palo Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Palo Alto

Property: Comfort Inn Palo Alto
Address: 3945 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306-3319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Palo Alto 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join the Comfort Inn Palo Alto, a convenient, family and pet friendly Northern California hotel near San Jose Airport, Stanford University,Stanford Shopping Center, Google, Facebook and Great America, for exciting West Coast getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Palo Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Palo Alto Hotel Palo Alto
Palo Alto Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing