We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic but ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very basic but ok”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel is very basic, but affordable in the Palo Alto milieu.
The back side is pretty quiet, but faces a school which is currently undergoing renovation. I can imagine it becoming quite noisy in the future. Also, privacy is defined by the curtains and blinds on the window. Acoustically neighboring rooms are well insulated, but otherwise, you can hear what happens on the balcony outside the room.
The location is convenient for visting Stanford, which is about 4 intersections north on El Camino Real.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are in the back. There is no elevator, so first floor is better when traveling with l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylikesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    51
    63
    14
    17
See reviews for
35
28
24
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I first got booked into a room that faced El Camino - one of the few right on the front of the hotel - I started to unpack, and realized that the road noise would be a bit much overnight. The staff was accomodating about changing my room even though space was tight. There is no elevator, which is sort of a pain if you're carrying luggage. I had trouble with the wifi - the signal would drop unexpectedly. Otherwise, it was all basic, clean, nothing special. The breakfast was very basic (and I skipped it after trying it once.)

Room Tip: Anythng that goes to the back is good. The view won't be good in most rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bumblebarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have stayed at the Comfort Inn in Palo Alto three times this year, while my wife was a patient at Stanford Hospital. It's easy to get to Stanford -- a short drive on El Camino Real. Hotels in Palo Alto are very expensive, especially midweek. Comfort Inn is less expensive than most of the others and seems from reviews I've read to be a step above most of the lower priced ones. In our most recent stay, prices varied each day from a low of $97 to a high of $150. The online reservation site detailed each day's cost, so we were not surprised. The staff are courteous and helpful. When my wife was discharged earlier than we had expected, we left a day early. They charged us only for the nights that we were there. The complimentary breakfast is a nice amenity -- not restaurant fare, but offering a good variety of hot and cold foods with a choice of coffee blends. We've asked for a room away from the street each time and have not been bothered by traffic noise at night. The rooms are spacious and clean. The mini refrigerator and microwave helped me to avoid eating out. The beds are reasonably comfortable, but the pillows are smaller than what we are used to and may not be to everyone's liking . In each room, we've found that our upholstered chair was placed wherever it could fit, whether it had light available for it or not. But the "office" style chair at the desk is comfortable and always has adequate light. (This is important when my wife is there, as she does needlework and needs good light.) I used the complimentary Wi-Fi in the most recent trip and found that it wasn't always reliable. At least three times I lost my signal while online, but it always came back quickly. Cell phone service (a major provider that was available throughout the city) was not available in our most recent room. We consistently got a signal that we could make Emergency Calls Only. My wife noticed that some people were taking their cell phones into the parking lot, where they apparently worked fine. It seemed that our cell phones worked fine the first two times we stayed there, so I don't know what was causing it. If you're willing to put up with the few quirks I've mentioned, you will most likely have a pleasant stay. Reviews of the Quality Inn suggest that it might be comparable, but I don't think you'd find anything better for the price in or near to Palo Alto.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lookn2retire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Valley, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

this is a nice property they are clean very eco friendly and they also accept military discounts which is a plus! it is conveniently located near lots of stores malls and banks. the average per night is 100 to 200 dollars. there were lots of nice people that work there especially the cleaning personnel or maids. they have a pretty decent complimentary breakfast with hot food including a waffle maker. the rooms are pretty small but they have all the accommodations refrigerator that works excellent coffee maker microwave and the also have room service. this hotel is nice overall

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toccara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

works just fine for a business trip - prices are usually the best compared to other local ones. good breakfast. no complaints. i got in late at night and noticed they had a second floor room. I requested a room on first floor and got it done in a minute. check-in and check out is a breeze. i usually book online or call them for special deals. cancellation is not difficult either. hope to stay here on most of my business trips to the bay area. wish there was more parking though. also very close to starbucks and jmaba juice makes morning easier

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJBatuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
133 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Conveniently located just off the Stanford University on El Camino Real in Palo Alto. Close to major shopping outlets if you need to get something during your visit to Stanford and Palo Alto. Hotel is clean and in great conditions, compared to other older ones along El Camino Real. Affordable rates and friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antony_Yiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed for one night in Jan. 2013. I took the other reviewers' advice and requested a room toward the back, on the second floor. I didn't have a problem with street noise, but there isn't very much insulation so I can see where others may have had a problem. The construction and decor is a little dated at this point, but there was nothing broken or down right dirty. I will say that the bathroom had a funny odor to it, like there might be mold festering somewhere (but also kind of sewage-ish smelling?). I forgot about it after my nose adjusted, however I woke up the next morning with a splitting headache (which I tend to get from mold allergies), so perhaps a little investigation is in order for that area? On to the pros: the front desk staff were very helpful and accommodating. The breakfast was good- nice variety, plenty of hot and cold (and healthy!) items to choose from. There are also some inexpensive restaurants within walking distance, which is handy when you don't feel like driving for dinner. I think the price is high for what this motel actually is, but that being said, maybe everything is just a little more pricey in palo alto? I don't think I'd stay for more than one night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_backroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
0.4 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#7 of 27 in Palo Alto
619 reviews
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Palo Alto
0.5 mi away
Stanford Motor Inn
Stanford Motor Inn
#19 of 27 in Palo Alto
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Palo Alto Silicon Valley
1.4 mi away
Stanford Terrace Inn
Stanford Terrace Inn
#24 of 27 in Palo Alto
179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Palo Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Palo Alto

Property: Comfort Inn Palo Alto
Address: 3945 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306-3319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Palo Alto 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join the Comfort Inn Palo Alto, a convenient, family and pet friendly Northern California hotel near San Jose Airport, Stanford University,Stanford Shopping Center, Google, Facebook and Great America, for exciting West Coast getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Palo Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Palo Alto Hotel Palo Alto
Palo Alto Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing