We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“OK if your visiting a family member” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Palo Alto

Motel 6 Palo Alto
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palo Alto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Motel 6 Palo Alto
Save
You added Motel 6 Palo Alto to your Saves list
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OK if your visiting a family member”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2008

Every year my grandparents come and visit my family. While there was summer left, they invited us to come swim on a cool morning. Me and my siblings went with my granny to the Motel 6 where there was friendly staff. The room was on the 3rd floor. The room smelled funny because of dog food and stains on the carpet (Motel 6's I have been to in the past has allowed pets) . The rooms were tiny and did not have any balconies. No big deal. The pool area and water was clean, but they do not heat the water. (Go figure! Its a cheap motel) If you are allergic to pets and are not used to cold pool water in the morning, disturbed by people smoking cigarettes, Then do not stay here. Above all, Its a basic hotel for a great price. I would like to visit this site next year. :-)

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PlaceLover10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
2
3
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

We were excited to stay here for a couple of nights because our apartment was being fumigated for termites. We wanted an enjoyable few nights from a second point of view in Palo Alto. What we discovered, however, changed our lives. For the better!

When I arrived at the Motel 6, I was greeted at the door by a motley bunch of ragamuffins who were smoking cheap cigarrettes. The room is spacious and clean, its spaciousness augmented by the spartan wall adornments, but with the peculiar scent and feel of having been dirty in its earlier days. Stuck in his little office, the front desk agent (Binod) was idle all night and when I went to go see him about the WiFi access he was almost too excited to talk to another human being. And here's a juicy tidbit: the king-size bed is actually two twin beds conjoined.

All in all an enjoyable and friendly experience. Boy the price was right!

  • Liked — price, pepole
  • Disliked — dirty rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank johnjohnjohnjohn69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2007

I lived here for SIX months. Considering the location, this is a good value. Yes, there are zero amenties; yes, it's not very clean. But if you're not spoiled and don't require luxuries, this is your spot. The lowest rate is around $47. You can pay an extra $5 to get a fridge + micro. oven. The front desk help and maids are very friendly & helpful, considering what they get paid. One problem here is that Motel 6 allows pets. So if you're fearful of or allergic to animals, DON'T STAY HERE. Rooms that have housed pets can smell disgusting, but management is pretty responsive about cleaning or moving you to a cleaner room. They will even steam-clean upon request. If you just ASK, they will make an effort to give you a cleaner room. In the entire time I stayed here, I never had a problem with noisy neighbors or fleas. Summertime is especially good since their pool area is spacious and VERY clean. Almost all guests here are nice, but this buget inn does tend to attract a scuzzy element. I would NOT stay here if I were a young woman traveling alone. Bowling alley w/ full bar, Dennys, Thai restaurant right next door.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Gimmeshelter76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring FL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2006

My husband and I were here on business for 4 days. The laindry room was filthy and melted crayons were in the dryer. I could not do laundry. The first day, I kept getting fleas on me. I picked off and killed enough of them to show the manager, so that she would believe there was a problem. They tried to blame it on our pet. (We don't have one.)They gave us THE ROOM NEXT DOOR with an ajoining door. I guess fleas cannot get under it. She apologized and said she would have the room exterminated right away. (Ten minutes later, a man checked in and was given the same room!) Our second room had fleas also. We checked out the next morning early and moved 2 doors down to the Oak Motel. We got wireless internet, micro and fridge, and a clean comfortable room for the same price.

  • Liked — Checking out.
  • Disliked — Fleas.
  • Tips/Secrets — If you have pets with no fleas, they will get them here.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank jimandsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palo Alto hotels

The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2005

If you are looking to save money and you don't need a hair dryer or ironing board, this is the place. I actually stayed two times (July-Aug) for several days each time. My rooms were clean, the staff was friendly, and the pool area was very nice. It is a great value and I rate it excellant as a great value.

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2004

The reception area was like a guard station at a prison – complete with security cameras and surly staff. The exterior “security” door near our room was permanently propped open with an overflowing garbage can, so anybody could walk right in off the street, bypassing reception.

The room was squalid. I had a cut in my foot and was afraid to use the shower with an open cut, so I taped a plastic bag around my foot in order to use the filthy shower.

I used to stay at this place often in the 1980s and early 1990’s and it was fine then, but I would NEVER stay here again.

Helpful?
6 Thank onlinealterego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2003

One of the worst stays I ever had!! The desk staff was incompetent, and the manager was RUDE! The elevator was broken, ( of which I was NOT informed) I had to carry my bags all the way up to the third floor, my NON-smoking room reeked of smoke, and the housekeeping staff did not clean my room for 2 days! When they did arrive, they woke me up on a Sunday morning at 9 am!! DO NOT STAY HERE!!

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Palo Alto
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
#18 of 27 in Palo Alto
3.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
#9 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 stars 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Glass Slipper Inn
Glass Slipper Inn
#27 of 27 in Palo Alto
3.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stanford Motor Inn
Stanford Motor Inn
#19 of 27 in Palo Alto
3.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Palo Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Palo Alto

Property: Motel 6 Palo Alto
Address: 4301 El Camino Real, US 101/Bayshore Freeway at San Antonio Road, Palo Alto, CA 94306-4407
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 71
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Palo Alto Hotel Palo Alto
Motel Six Palo Alto
Palo Alto Motel Six
Palo Alto Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing