We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfectly-fine to great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Reviewed August 28, 2007

After reading the reviews I really went back and forth between here and the Westin - so glad I chose here. Check in was definitely above-average. They let me check in at 11:15 in the morning and were funny and nice - I think they upgraded my room to a sheraton member room, even tho I'm not. The room was perfectly fine - pristine clean, comfy sheets and bed and yes, a bit small but perfectly adequate and nicely updated bathroom. Staff was nice everywhere I went. Worked out in the work-out room (3 treatmills, a couple of elipticals, good TV situation and some free weights - again perfectly adequate), then laid by the pool for a few hours - great chaises, good towels and nice atmosphere with cocktail and snack/lunch service available from my chair - felt like I was in heaven. I can totally see that the back parking lot rooms would not be ideal (the train literally runs right by) but I had a roo facing the other way and other than the unfortunately pretty normal "adjacent door closing" noise, noise level was OK. Overall I was very happy with my choice. Cons: Don't think they need to charge for parking ($10.00) in a non-city hotel. Oh, also, if I had paid the $300-400 room rates they had on their websites I would not have been happy, at $129.00 it was just great.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lauravk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (784)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

707 - 713 of 784 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2007

Upon arrival, they had a bit of a problem locating my reservation, however, I won't blame that on them as I think that was more a function of the way my room was reserved (I didn't make the reservation). They finally found my reservation and I was relieved to be headed towards my room since it was nearly 11:30 PM. My relief turned to horror when I opened the door of the room. I didn't even have to step in to see that it was filthy. The beds weren't made and soiled towels could be seen. They had assigned me a room that really wasn't ready.

I saw a person from housekeeping with a walkie-talkie so I asked if they could notify the front desk to have me reassigned. Let’s just say that didn’t go smoothly (he advised me to call the front desk myself – fascinating, but I digress…) so I called down to the front desk and was put on hold. So I’m sitting on hold outside of a dirty room – me, my suitcase and my tote bag… I finally get off hold after about five minutes and I explain the problem to the front desk. They assign me another room and then ask me if I would like someone to bring me a key. There is a such thing as a stupid question. I can’t fathom why they would think that after lugging my suitcase to a dirty room, why I would like to lug it back to the lobby, obtain a new key and then find my new room. This Sheraton is a garden style hotel – so finding your room is not straightforward. You have to wonder inside and outside, through meandering corridors, across the pool area, up and down and back around to find your room. So no, I think I’ll wait here while someone brings me a key.

About five minutes later, someone arrived with my new key. I left that corridor, walked outside then back inside and went up 3 floors to go to the 3rd floor of the Club level. This time, it all worked out. My new room was clean. The décor was decent. Nothing to write home about, but standard Sheraton-level quality. The only thing was that every once in a while I noticed an unidentifiable, slight smell that was not pleasant, but not extremely unpleasant. It was near the bathroom. Other than that, I was satisfied with the state of the room.

The layout of the hotel itself was nice and worked well for my purposes. I had several “mini” meetings in the pool and lobby area. Location-wise, this hotel is great if you have business at Stanford or need to be near downtown Palo Alto. Parking is expensive so be ready to pay.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Malie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

Just got back from staying a week at the Sheraton for a wedding we attended in Palo Alto. We found it such a pleasant stay we convinced our friends to change locations from other hotels in Palo Alto and move to the Sheraton. The staff even brought up a fridge and microwave and crib for our friends who had their baby with them. The pool area was great and food and bar service by the pool a real bonus. We had a room overlooking the pool so the Train wasn't an issue for us. For price/ ammenities/ location and service just off University this place is hard to beat!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank canuck1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2007

My wife and I wanted to spend mothers day weekend out of town. We wanted to go to San Francisco, and decided to stay at the Sheraton in Palo Alto. What a great hotel and honestly what a great little town. S.F. was great, but we truely enjoyed our stay in the P. A. area. The Sheraton was close to Frisco only about 40 minutes out, and within walking distance to downtown P.A. If you wanted to you could park and use the public trans., we took the car into the city. I thought the Sheraton was nice, easy access to all we needed, and a very nice hotel. The room was clean, nothing spectacular, but very nice and quite. The food was good, lounge and pool were very nice, don't know what else you want. We would stay at the Sheraton again.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank turft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2007

Be sure to get a room that is not facing the railway at the back. Rooms feel old and not sparkling clean, service is OK but not extraordinary. I'd choose another hotel if I had the choice.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank martinsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2007

This hotel is not a super-luxurious place, but if you choose carefully, you can get a great room and have a nice stay. Yes, the feel is a little 1950s, but the pool is clean and quiet with good lounge chairs and towels, the courtyard pond and waterfalls sound nice and are surrounded by lots of trees and plants, and the food is decent. The place is clean and, when I visited last week, was nicely decorated for Easter brunch.

Make sure to request an courtyard-facing room, and if you can, pay extra for the club floor with breakfast included. The club rooms are much newer and nicer and include better bath amenities, bathrobes, Starbucks coffee, turndown service and breakfast and evening snacks in the club lounge. The breakfast is about the same as what you would get in a Hampton Inn or Holiday Inn Express, but in more exclusive surroundings, with nicer staff. I didn't get a chance to check out the evening snacks, which are offered Monday through Thursday.

Yes, the heaters are a little loud and they dry out the air in the room. If the weather is nice, though, you can leave the heater off. I never used my heater. And as for the trains passing by, you don't hear them if you are staying in an courtyard-facing room.

That said, if you get an outside-facing, non-club room, you won't be as happy.

I stayed last week for $120 per night in a huge, courtyard-facing club room on the top floor. It was a great value with the included breakfast and evening snacks. It's not a luxury hotel, but it's nice and I will be going back the next time I'm in Palo Alto.

Note: Google uses this hotel for its staff and prospective staff.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 45CountriesSoFar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2007

Great place to stay. The room was large and VERY CLEAN. Staff was friendly and helpful. When I was checking out and mentioned I had a late flight I was offered a late (6PM) checkout without me even asking. The hotel has a nice pool and a pond stocked with fish. It is within short walking distance of downtown Palo Alto and a 2 minute walk to bus and train stops. Close proximity to a huge shopping center and Standord University.

I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

Thank DisneyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#9 of 27 in Palo Alto
672 reviews
3.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
1,072 reviews
3.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
#10 of 27 in Palo Alto
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
0.2 mi away
Nobu Hotel, Epiphany Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel

Address: 625 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301-2301
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range: $143 - $619 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel is a luxury accommodation in Silicon Valley near Stanford University and San Francisco Bay Area attractions like Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, Chinatown, and Napa Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Palo Alto
Palo Alto Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing