We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great if you know what room to choose!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great if you know what room to choose!”
Reviewed April 15, 2007

This hotel is not a super-luxurious place, but if you choose carefully, you can get a great room and have a nice stay. Yes, the feel is a little 1950s, but the pool is clean and quiet with good lounge chairs and towels, the courtyard pond and waterfalls sound nice and are surrounded by lots of trees and plants, and the food is decent. The place is clean and, when I visited last week, was nicely decorated for Easter brunch.

Make sure to request an courtyard-facing room, and if you can, pay extra for the club floor with breakfast included. The club rooms are much newer and nicer and include better bath amenities, bathrobes, Starbucks coffee, turndown service and breakfast and evening snacks in the club lounge. The breakfast is about the same as what you would get in a Hampton Inn or Holiday Inn Express, but in more exclusive surroundings, with nicer staff. I didn't get a chance to check out the evening snacks, which are offered Monday through Thursday.

Yes, the heaters are a little loud and they dry out the air in the room. If the weather is nice, though, you can leave the heater off. I never used my heater. And as for the trains passing by, you don't hear them if you are staying in an courtyard-facing room.

That said, if you get an outside-facing, non-club room, you won't be as happy.

I stayed last week for $120 per night in a huge, courtyard-facing club room on the top floor. It was a great value with the included breakfast and evening snacks. It's not a luxury hotel, but it's nice and I will be going back the next time I'm in Palo Alto.

Note: Google uses this hotel for its staff and prospective staff.

  • Liked — serene central courtyard
  • Disliked — expensive parking
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 45CountriesSoFar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    223
    225
    121
    50
See reviews for
117
75
52
420
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2007

Great place to stay. The room was large and VERY CLEAN. Staff was friendly and helpful. When I was checking out and mentioned I had a late flight I was offered a late (6PM) checkout without me even asking. The hotel has a nice pool and a pond stocked with fish. It is within short walking distance of downtown Palo Alto and a 2 minute walk to bus and train stops. Close proximity to a huge shopping center and Standord University.

I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

Helpful?
Thank DisneyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast California
Level Contributor
178 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2007

My husband and I have stayed here twice in the last month. The first time I asked for a quiet room, and we were given a club room for the same price as a regular room. This was because it was a Thursday night, and they were evidently not busy. It was very quiet, and we were happy. The next time the price was much higher because we stayed on a Sunday night, when business people are there. We had a regular room and hated it. The heat was very noisy, we heard the train during the night (even though we were in an inside room), and doors were slamming all night long, to the point where the walls in our room shook. Considering the price we paid, we would not go back.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank lakemissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2007

We stayed here 4 nights and, although the heating was loud ( and had to run most of the time due to poor insulation), we were well-rested. My husband an I are pretty sensitive to noise. I did hear the train in the morning, but it sounded quite distant (although it just behind the parking lot in the back - ask for a room facing in forward ahead of time if this could bother you. The best part was the beds which were great! The lounge chairs by the pool were also nice.

We stayed here after the awful Stanford Terrace Inn, so it was a big step up, but maybe not what I would expect from any Sheraton. It's strange that in such an earthquake-prone areas, the hotels are built so flimsily.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank levly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2007

We booked a room through hotels.com, over $200.00 per night including taxes. The first thing we noticed about our (non-club) room was the noise of the fan from the heating system. Since we were staying there during unusually cold weather, the fan was on pretty much all night, and the room never warmed up. I would say that the noise-level from the fan was equivalent to being in an airplane. Still, we also heard every train go by, every conversation in the hallways, and every toilet flush. We asked to look at other rooms to see if they all had the same problem. All of the rooms we saw (in the same area of the hotel) had the same problem. Though I was told that they were not full, they did not offer to upgrade us to a club room, so I do not know if they are better. When we requested a humidifier to counteract the constant high-presusre flow of air into the room, the first one they brought (over thirty minutes later) didn't work at all. The second one (delivered another thirty minutes later) seemed like it might be functional, but the level of water was the same the next day as when we had filled it.

We asked about checking out a day early, and they said we could check out whenever we wished, we just wouldn't receive a refund since we had used hotels.com for the booking. When we contacted hotels.com, they said they would only offer a partial refund (they said that the Sheraton claimed that we had refused to look at other rooms!). I regret that we did not just decide to lose the money and leave. The next day, we noticed the smell of cigarette smoke was filtering into our room from the hallway.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CAPasadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palo Alto hotels

Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2006

This hotel is a throwback to an older era of California, when the Camino was king and state-of-the-art was a Japanese garden and koi pond. The rooms are nice, if a bit dark, with upgraded Sheraton furniture but everything outside the rooms is dated, well-worn and in dire need of a refresh. The management, which also owns the Westin next door, seems to prefer to make most of its investments in the Westin rather than this Sheraton. Recently, management has been tearing up the parking lot, perhaps planning to squeeze yet another Starwood property on the site?

The hotel gym has very dated and unpleasant equipment. However, the hotel has one coin laundry that is a rare and highly-valued amenity for those on the road on extended trips. I use it even when I stay at the Westin next door.

The executive lounge is a small, ugly, cramped space with very average quality offerings for breakfast and hors d'oeuvres. In room coffeemakers are thankfully outside the bathroom. Foul-tasting no-brand coffee is provided for use in the machine.

Staff are consistently pleasant and many do double duty at the Westin. Room service is friendly but the food very unremarkable. This hotel also creates confusion with the tipping system by including a large tip portion in the room service charge, but not highlighting this to guests. The staff were not forthcoming about this, but I specifically asked management.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Worn infrastructure (gym equipment, public carpeting, etc)
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't tip room service staff twice
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JenSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2006

Stayed just one night with my husband and toddler. Opted for a Club room, which was spacious and included a room divider so the baby could sleep while we watched TV and worked. Club rooms also include free breakfast and evening snacks. Service was friendly and efficient. Centrally located, easy walk to downtown Palo Alto. Beautiful Koi pond (big hit with the kids) and heated outdoor pool. Self parking is $10/day, as is internet access (ethernet, not wi fi). Rooms do not have refrigerators. Would recommend that you become a (free) Starwood member before booking, as it allows for late checkout and other benefits. Our rate was $199 booked through the Sheraton website.

  • Liked — Great location, great rooms.
  • Disliked — Floor plan of the hotel is somewhat convoluted. Make sure the front desk person explains how to get to your room.
  • Tips/Secrets — Become a Starwood member.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
0.1 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#9 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#4 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel

Property: Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Address: 625 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301-2301
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel is a luxury accommodation in Silicon Valley near Stanford University and San Francisco Bay Area attractions like Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, Chinatown, and Napa Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Palo Alto
Palo Alto Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing