We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, nice staff, LOUD elevators!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, nice staff, LOUD elevators!”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Our family recently stayed at this hotel and i would only stay again if we were given a room that is FAR away from the elevator. We were 3 doors down from the elevator on the 3rd floor and the sound of the elevator was extremely loud. The elevators ran all night and each time it did you could here the motor of the elevator vibrating/humming through our walls. I've never experienced such a thing at a hotel before. It made it quite difficult to sleep, we woke up several times during the night. The hotel is older and has been updated but is beginning to show signs of wear and tear. Beds were comfortable and the staff was pleasant.

Room Tip: Away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocoapuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    227
    227
    123
    51
See reviews for
120
77
53
426
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

My impression after staying here was that this must have been a motel sometime back which someone has tried to upgrade into a star hotel. The staff were friendly at the checkin counter but, despite being a platinum member, there were no upgrades provided.

The rooms were hardly star-quality rooms with very less space to walk around. An AC occupied some sq feet of the room (no centralized AC). Amenities provided were poor - no robe, no dental kit, no room slippers etc.

Location is OK - on the highway, walking distance from the Caltrain station and downtown Palo Alto

The complimentary BF was continental style and limited. Would have preferred more hot food. No happy hours for platinum guests!

Room Tip: Facing the pool/pond. Take one with a balcony - extra space that way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajeshkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The Sheraton Palo Alto is perfectly located, walking distance from Stanford University and from the train station. From the hotel you can also easily access restaurants and bars on University Avenue. That would make it the perfect location to stay while visiting Palo Alto, but.... the hotel rooms are very basic and have most probably not be renovated since hotel was built. Most inconvenience comes from very poor sound isolation: any noise from one room (toilets, shower, TV, even a simple conversation) will benefit all rooms nearby. Clearly not what you are expecting while staying at a Sheraton Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with even number are South West facing and suffer less noise from the trains
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruno L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

That was precisely the feel that this particular Sheraton properly had as I walked in through the smallish lobby. Service at the front desk was downright hostile, bordering on picking a fight. The clerk acted like I was taking valuable time away from her that she could have been spending filing her nails.

The lobby area opened directly into the pool. A small bar that looked like a basement rumpus room circa 1958 was off to the left of the lobby. My room was in the second floor of the main building, and not in the better maintained club level building next door.

While the facility was beautifully landscaped, the cheap finishes in the room, combined with the DIY Ikea-style furniture (albeit looking like it came smashed in the box from K-Mart) and the horrible service make this a no-go. I honestly didn't like much of Sheraton's properties before this, but now I will avoid them at all costs as this one was grotesquely overpriced for a Holiday Inn makeover from the last century. The only thing missing was the blood-stained shag carpeting and the disco ball.

Room Tip: Walk next door to the Westin.
See more room tips
Green Features: They are very environmentally friendly. They didn't bother to update the hotel since 1973.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGfromDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palo Alto hotels

Danville, California
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This Sheraton is marginal. It only gets away with the marginal rooms, noisy air conditioners, and incompetent staff because it is 100% full Monday through Friday. I have stayed here at least 6 times. Today I went to the gym and the treadmills were taken so I went into the adjacent room to use the elliptical machine. The room is SO CRAMPED I had to walk across the gym mat with my outside gym shoes on to get to the machine. People were lying on the mat. Dirty shoes on the mat is unsanitary. They had 3 machines. They were SO SO close together that when I attempted to get to the vacant machine, the adjacent machine that was in use struck me in the leg as that person was using it (the part that struck me was the mechanical part that goes up/down/back/forth). It drew blood and made a bruise. I went to the front desk, requested a band aid and ointment and asked to see the manager. I got the medical supplies but the manager "was not in". I cleaned up in my room and when I returned upon checkout I requested again for the manager. Instead I was told that I would "receive email correspondence from the front desk clerk". Really?! It is appalling to me that they would not discuss it with me nor remedy the situation (there was about 1.5 feet to spare on the left of the row of machines that would give them more room if they space them out better - and I suggested this). I am attaching pictures of the cramped machine situation and my leg. I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraBaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The hotel is conveniently located next to CalTrain Station and in front of Stanford University. The staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms are large and comfortable. If you are sick at eating in the hotel, a mile away there are lot of joints and you can get a lot of vegetarian options (Mexican, Indian, Italian etc). This hotel is conveniently located behind the caltrain station, if you want to go to San Jose or California main city, you can not ask for more.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sathya27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The hotel is conveniently located next to CalTrain Station and Stanford University. It is not cheap, but there were lots of benefits to staying there. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The grounds were pretty. The rooms were large and clean. The biggest drawback is that between the two bars and the CalTrain it wasn't exactly quiet. It didn't matter, I had an amazing night sleep, because the bed was probably the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept on. When I saw that they sell their bedding online, I thought it was silly, but after sleeping in the bed, I'm thinking about buying it myself.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nskinner67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
0.1 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#8 of 27 in Palo Alto
652 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#4 of 27 in Palo Alto
393 reviews
2.2 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
637 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 10 in Menlo Park
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel

Property: Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Address: 625 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301-2301
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel is a luxury accommodation in Silicon Valley near Stanford University and San Francisco Bay Area attractions like Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, Chinatown, and Napa Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Palo Alto
Palo Alto Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing