We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced, adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
seattle
Level Contributor
130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Overpriced, adequate”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The only good things I can say about the hotel is that it is conveniently located to Stanford University and that the room was clean.The rooms were very overpriced and to add insult to injury, there is a daily parking fee. ($15)
Went into the onsite restaurant, where were shared a quesadilla and a soft drink. $35.00 - I would describe it as edible.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sanget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    223
    225
    121
    50
See reviews for
117
75
52
420
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I had a 3-night stay at the Sheraton Palo Alto earlier this June. I found the hotel property was in a great location especially for anyone wanting to be near downtown Palo Alto or Stanford. In fact, several restaurants on University Ave. are within walking distance of the hotel. Do yourself a favor and take the 10 minute walk and enjoy the fresh air.

The property is broken up into several buildings which made it a bit of a maze to figure out how to get to my room. There is a very nice hotel bar adjoining the courtyard surrounding the pool. Makes for great socializing after a day full of business meetings. If you're an SPG member that qualifies for the club level, they have an excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: My advise is to get a room facing the interior courtyards so you'll have a nice view of the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sojoerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Sheraton with our family of four. Right across the street from Stanford with easy access to Bay Area. Great service, clean, very comfortable beds. Hotel has beautiful pool and outdoor garden area. No free breakfast included.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Palisades, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

So, it seems that the hotel is under renovation since I last stayed there in the fall of last year. I have been meaning to write a review, but did not get around to it yet.

Other than the fact that this hotel is across the street from Stanford, which makes it convenient for events at the school, all the negative comments about the condition of the hotel apply (at least until they finish a complete remodel). The hotel does not seem like it has been updated in 30 or 40 years.

Worse than that, was the utter indifference we experienced to a safety issue I brought to the hotel's attention. I brought a group of people to the hotel for a football game. One of our rooms was a large suite that included a bar. The particle-board bar was screwed together with wood screws that were too long and the quite literally razor sharp tips of the screws protruded from the inside face of the bar. If one were to accidentally rub against this screw, it would slice open your hand or arm. I brought the situation to the attention of the housekeeping staff and front desk, but the situation was not corrected during our stay. To me, it really represented an appalling lack of concern for the welfare and safety of the hotel's guests.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AviatorMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palo Alto hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Facility is dark and circa 1983. I am in a king junior suite and seems like a standard king room. I'm facing their "water feature" which means just looking inward.

Pros:
- Location - across from Stanford and close to downtown Palo Alto

Cons:
- Extremely dark - room faces interior artium and very little day light
- Extremely dated - the room, carpet, and fixtures are well worn and have seen way better days - think brass and mirrors
- Dirty - bathroom/shower is gross
- No amenitites in room - even the coffee maker is half broken and dated. No mini-bar or fridge
- Loud - can hear the room next door shower, talk on the phone and watch TV. Thin walls w/ no insulation

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maarssen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
119 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights during a conference and was lucky to have a SPG room facing the garden, as there is quite some noise from the road as well as the railway.
Also the room is noisy, as you hear your neighbour flushing or showering. Apart from that, the room is spacy and the bathroom simple but adequate. I signed up for a Green program, meaning that housekeeping comes only once every 3 days.
The bed was fine and so was the breakfast buffet. I specifically liked the abundance of fresh fruit.
Pity there is no safe in the room and that wifi comes at a charge.
The hotel needs renovation, which is underway. My bedroom was recently recarpented and one afternoon I could barely reach my room, as they were carpenting the corridor. But I believe the renovation should go a bit further and also include the sliding doors to the small balcony and the plumbing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This Sheraton has a very nice entryway with a pool that has a bar right by it and fire to warm up at night. Its in the middle of renovations so perhaps afterwards it will be even better. The windows weren't exactly soundproof so I had a little trouble sleeping, but the bed was comfortable. Some items were a little old, but they are in the midst of changing carpet, etc now so it should be good. Parking was a bit tricky, but maybe because two weddings were taking place when we checked in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbstheword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
0.1 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#9 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#4 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel

Property: Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Address: 625 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301-2301
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel is a luxury accommodation in Silicon Valley near Stanford University and San Francisco Bay Area attractions like Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, Chinatown, and Napa Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Palo Alto
Palo Alto Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing