We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does not meet quality of other Sheratons. Place is quite old and service not quite impressive.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We were quite surprised the moment we walked into the room and found it much smaller than expected since we have stayed in different cheaper hotels around the area and we expected that Sheraton offers at least as big room as other hotels.

The place is decent though a little bit old and seems like it needs some renovation. The staff is not very nice. I stood in front of the counter for nearly ten minutes waiting for the staff member to finish his phone call with another customer. At least I would appreciate him telling me how long it would take but he totally ignored my presence.

Despite negative things, this hotel is quite good in terms of location. Just a few minutes walking into the city. However, you might still want to rent a car when you come to this area and this advantage may not matter as much (as in our case).

Overall, quite a pricey hotel with a average service and pretty good location since most cheaper hotels are farther away from the city. Do not expect anything like other Sheratons in bigger cities.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KangarooWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (771)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

457 - 463 of 771 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at the Westin Palo Alto last time (next door) which was a more upscale option but the staff here were friendly and the room comfortable with a small kitchen. We booked a club room which was more than a standard room at the Westin but didn't realise that the lounge wasn't open on the weekends and didn't offer an alternative in the dining room within the rate as we have experienced at other properties. Well located and comfortable but if the rates were the same would stay at the Westin next time. Most of the public areas and gardens looked like a bit of a 70's throwback but it served the purpose for a comfortable single nights stay.

Room Tip: We had an outdoor area with a driveway outside which was a mundane outlook, I would have thought tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RossY415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Great bed, good room and bathroom.

I was initially disappointed at how far it was to get from the room to the lobby, but I came to appreciate the lovely ponds and garden with sitting area in the court yard. If you can, get a room facing into the interior courtyard garden, ground floor rooms even have sitting areas outside the room.

I enjoyed the "green" option of declining to have the room serviced in exchange for 500 Starwood points.

Food at the hotel was expensive, but good quality. There are many wonderful restaurants within a 10 minute walk, under the train tracks and into Palo Alto.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen_1418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great location, close to everything in Palo Alto. Nice pool area and they have the big heaters to be able to sit outside when it's chilly. Be aware that there seem to be bar mitzvah's there every weekend! Service is very good. Standard Sheraton rooms so you know what to expect

Room Tip: do not get a ground floor room near the pool--it is very dark and loud. Get in a side building on an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsfcmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location, it is a 5 minute stroll into the main street in Palo Alto with lots of shops, cafes and restaurants. Stanford mall is a couple of minute drive away and it is next door to a rail station with trains into San Francisco.

The hotel itself is certainly not modern but our room was a good size, clean and comfortable. The hotel is also built around a little oriental styled garden with a pond which I really liked. It made the place a little different. Our room overlooked the garden and it was lovely falling asleep to the sound of running water, very relaxing.

Staff were very friendly and helpful. We were meeting friends for a picnic and needed directions, the staff searched on Google maps and printed off a map for us whilst giving us bottles of water to drink whilst we waited. I really couldn't fault them.

Now to the not so good stuff, wifi is extra unless you sit in the lobby. Parking is extra as well. Room although nice was not as good as other Sheratons I have stayed in. We ate in the bar on the first night, staff were lovely but food took ages to arrive, we only ordered Nachos so couldn't understand why it took so long, they also weren't very nice.

House keeping were also a nightmare. Make sure you put your do not disturb sign on the door before you go to bed. They were knocking on everyones door at 8am in the morning, even though it was a Saturday.

We were lucky and got a room overlooking the garden in the centre, rooms looking outwards of the hotel would have car park views so probably not as peaceful.

Would I stay here again? On balance yes if it was just for a couple of days given the location but I wouldn't bother eating in the hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the central courtyard with garden are the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monty_Harpenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've stayed here three times and it's always a pleasure. Location is perfect at the intersection of University Ave and Palm Drive (Stanford). Grounds are quintessential Palo Alto -- understated, but appealing and centered on the outdoors. Guestrooms are nicely appointed . Service couldn't be nicer. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RL434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

This relatively expensive hotel was pretty to look at with Koi pond and sculptures but not welcoming. Clean enough. Quilts on beds very heavy.
Traveling with kids the pool is important. It was outdoors and just warm enough but no hot tub to warm in. I resent having to pay $10 for wifi. Also used to hotels with breakfast generously included.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dharmarobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#9 of 27 in Palo Alto
668 reviews
3.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
1,037 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
0.2 mi away
Nobu Hotel, Epiphany Palo Alto
3.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
#10 of 27 in Palo Alto
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel

Address: 625 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301-2301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range: $143 - $623 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel is a luxury accommodation in Silicon Valley near Stanford University and San Francisco Bay Area attractions like Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, Chinatown, and Napa Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Palo Alto
Palo Alto Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing