We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Eastern Sierra, CA
Level Contributor
255 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff and great location”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Thank you to Uriel and the morning front desk staff who were able to check us in early and provide local information. We traveled, unexpectedly, for a medical appointment and made a last minute reservation. Everybody at the hotel was friendly and the location is superb. Given the peeling wallpaper I saw, the hotel could use some sprucing up. Also, there is no Club Lounge evening service on weekends.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank terere2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    225
    225
    122
    51
See reviews for
120
75
52
422
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The hotel was fantastic and the service was so very special. The staff was there for any needs and eager to help in any way they could and always with smiles on their faces. The restaurant had service poolside so it was relaxing to just sit and have a snack or a drink. Internet service was available in your room for a fee or free in the lobby. The hotel was within walking distance to shops and other restaurants.

Room Tip: The garden view rooms would be nice that overlook the pond and fish or perhaps a sliding door to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed at this hotel several times over the past several months. It was somewhat pricey ($200+), but never really delivered. Rooms are a little run down and could use renovation. Parking isn't cheap. Rooms are very basic. You could tell the shower was old...

If you can afford it, spend another $50 and stay in the Westin next door. It's a whole different ballgame...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palo Alto hotels

Beverly Hills
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I liked the location and the use of the sister hotels Jacuzzi.The Beds are really comfortable and the pillows and linens are amazing.I was just above the pond area facing in towards pool which of course much to my chagrin they charge you more for.I am a Starwood member and this seems to count less and less these days.The bar was open pretty late and they had friendly bartenders.Nice coffee stand in the a.m.

Room Tip: Pick toward pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gogobellatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed at the Sheraton Palo Alto for work (and I'm an SPG member). I've always had decent experiences with Sheraton properties. This one was just ok.

Pros:
Friendly and helpful staff
Clean rooms

Cons:
I asked for a quiet room, but they put me in a room next the the train. Luckily the outdated A/C unit was loud enough to drown out the train and nearby highway traffic.

My bathroom was so small it was difficult to turn around. I had no countertop space and had to pull in a table from the room to to accomodate my hair dryer, flat iron, etc. (see photo). A co-worker who was charged the same price said her room and bathroom was huge.

Very thin walls...very noisy rooms. Again..thank goodness for the white noise of the loud A/C unit.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger bathroom and ask to not be near the train or highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GivingMyOpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The location is perfect for shopping and visiting the Stanford campus. It's full of students, however, over the weekends similar to a Cancun beach hotel. The staff was friendly, but the facility itself is in need of refurbishment.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside court room on floors 4 through 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadTrip663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimrebo, General Manager at Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Cancun wasnt exactly what we were going for...however, we have tried to make an effort on our busy weekends to make the pool area more inviting and improve the atmosphere. thank you for taking the time to submit a review and I hope on your next stay you find the pool area comfortable, without a "frat party" feel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I have been staying in this hotel several times over last three years. The hotel is dated; no insulation against noise whether from elevators or patio activities or trains - replacing old windows would be a big improvement. A/C systems are also antiquated and noisy. Overall experience was always much below average (especially for the price charged) but in Palo Alto there are very few choices. Location is convenient. Rooms are clean but provide minimum amenities - only one free electrical outlet for example, no fridge
However, on my last stay staff attitude was unacceptable. I was checking out early morning and expected a bill under the door. None arrived and I had to carry luggage across the whole complex to the lobby and then back to the parking. Also, on this morning TV (basic channels) did not work. When I mentioned these two issue at the front desk (not expecting any recompense) there was not even a perfunctory apology. I was told that there would be no charge for TV (???). The staff not only did not care but was not even remotely interested. I was told that no manager was available.

Room Tip: stay away unless central Palo Alto (close to Stanford campus) importants
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
0.1 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#10 of 27 in Palo Alto
645 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#4 of 27 in Palo Alto
387 reviews
2.2 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#7 of 27 in Palo Alto
619 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel

Property: Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Address: 625 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301-2301
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel is a luxury accommodation in Silicon Valley near Stanford University and San Francisco Bay Area attractions like Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, Chinatown, and Napa Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Palo Alto
Palo Alto Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing