We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Was this an old La Quinta or something? AveraTired rooms to a little bit below average.Housekeeping and bar staff nice, front desk indifferent. Could be razed and high rise needs to be built. Not worth the price. More interesting and fun things up the tracks in San Jose.

Room Tip: Only had the rom overlooking parking lot, tracks. Was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichiganKansan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (765)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

530 - 536 of 765 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2012

The room keys were always deprogramming themselves. We couldn't get in parking or our rooms. In one day, we went through 11 room keys. Not to mention that all electronics except the tv were broken at one point or another.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnGIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Agree with the general sentiment that the Sheraton is not worth paying full price for. Hotels in Palo Alto are very expensive during the week, but if you are a Starwood member, the hotel does offer an attractive cash+points option on the weekends. Plus, it's close to the CalTrain station, so it becomes an affordable place to stay on the weekend if you want to visit San Francisco but not pay the outrageous hotel prices in the city.

The pool area is actually quite nice and the koi pond does provide a tranquil ambiance. Otherwise, it's a standard Sheraton hotel. Sweet Sleeper bed, relatively below average restaurant, and well-kept grounds. It's definitely a better deal than the Westin across the street.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NWTraveler25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Definitely an older hotel, but what isn't in Palo Alto? Overall the staff tries hard and the place was pretty good for the price. I would stay again. I was impressed with the Club level breakfast... great outdoor seating area for a little morning coffee and reading.

Room Tip: Room facing the interior is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

This is not a fancy Sheraton, but the staff tries hard in an aging infrastructure. The hotel is poorly laid out and you have to step outside to go the lobby or the bar or the restaurant. However, our Club Room Suites were very spacious, clean and well appointed. The bathroom amenities were sad when compared to even a Marriott. Location is excellent with University Avenue and Caltrans being just around the corner and the Stanford Shopping Mall being less than a mile away...and it is right across from the Stanford University.
Some quirky things: There were 25-30 people in the bar and yet they shut down at midnight - On a Saturday night! Appeals to the Front Desk did not help. Room service shut down at 10PM!! No food in the Bar after 10:00PM!!!

The Club Room lounge was closed for the weekend. Oh, and they have a couple of ducks that swim in the swimming pool - isn't that unhygienic?

Lastly, the room keys of a large number of guests stopped working randomly and we all had to trudge back to the lobby to get new keys.

Room Tip: Suites 3105-3107 and 3102-3104 are very nice...but no refrigerators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKG109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

No fridge, no microwave, Stingy on the food amount and price, small rooms, very large and confusing layout, not worth the price at all! I've stayed in better hotels for $99 a night with more to offer. OH and THEY CHARGE FOR EVERYTHING!!! including internet access ($10 a day).

Room Tip: I guess if you have the money get above standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The service I find was merely base on how much tip they get. Didn't seem like they wanted to help me at all when I have questions or even just getting room service. The location itself of the hotel is in a good area. Within walking distance to university ave

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amagad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#9 of 27 in Palo Alto
663 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nobu Hotel, Epiphany Palo Alto
3.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
0.5 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#4 of 27 in Palo Alto
410 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel

Address: 625 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301-2301
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range: $161 - $625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel is a luxury accommodation in Silicon Valley near Stanford University and San Francisco Bay Area attractions like Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, Chinatown, and Napa Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Palo Alto
Palo Alto Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing