We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Jyväskylä
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I was on a business trip in Palo Alto and stayed in Dinah's Garden for four nights. There are multiple buildings in the hotel and I had a room in building 6, which was a short walk from the front desk. Room was spatious and clean and the bed was very comfortable. The environment was nice, having small gardens and ponds around. I had a breakfast every morning in the poolside restaurant and they had quite a nice selection in the breakfast menu but it took a while to get it to the table. Service in the fron desk and in the restaurant was nice.
All and all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sampoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    230
    65
    20
    14
See reviews for
237
170
62
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Dinah's exterior never impressed me and the El Camino location is definitely not the most peaceful place in Palo Alto... I only stayed at the hotel this time because all the other hotels I usually stay were sold out. Having said that, I was impressed with the suite where I stayed (Bali). Despite being an old building, the owners did a great job with the room decoration. The shower is one of the very best I experienced in a hotel. The bed is also excellent.

The checkout service follows the old model (i.e. go to the front desk and give your credit card). I wish they implement an out checkout for business people.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Cassio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights, they upgraded me to the FDR suite, which was exceptionally nice. The room was big, spacious, quiet and well furnished, with a nice view into Koi pond and its birds. The bed was fantastic, top grade mattress, linen and blankets. Some of the best sleep quality I had in a hotel for a very long while, including some fairly high end hotels. The amenities were great (soap, shampoo, lotion, etc..) and as an additional treat, two fresh flavorful apples and chocolates each day. The room had a steam shower, which was a REAL treat to relax after a long, intense day of work and a gas fireplace, which was perfect for feeling cozy during my rainy visit. The internet was fast speed and I could download huge files, stream movies and I have not encountered internet at this bandwidth in a hotel room. As a final treat, I had an exercise bike in my own room. I came back to a spotless room each day and the front desk was extremely friendly and "can do".

Restaurants are both the up and the downside of this place. I went to The Sea by Alexander's on property two nights. The best food I ever had in Palo Alto, comparable to some of NYC's finest, the food was simply to die for. But, also to part with a $100 per person for, not something one can afford every. Their alternative "poolside restaurant" is at the other end, un-edible. Breakfast and room-service options are limited. The menu has a limited selection of unappealing and poorly prepared items. I ordered breakfast and it was so bad I had to return it and I preferred airport food. If only this place could get a decent "hotel restaurant", in additional to its high end heavenly delight, it would be perfect.

I have stayed at this hotel 4 times, 3 times I stayed in the buildings 5 and 6 and had a fantastic stay. Once I was close to the pool and it was very noisy. I visit the area 3 times each year and the past two years I have been searching for the right hotel. Generally speaking, hotels in Palo Alto are outrageously over-priced, with a "motel feel". I used to stay at the Stanford Terrace Inn, when it had a different management and was ranked first in trip-advisor, except than now it became in intolerable hotel and rightly ranked at the bottom So I have been searching for a new option and I have tried 6 different hotels. I currently feel that Dinah's Garden is the best hotel in the area hands down, and a good value for your money in this area. I have stayed at the Westin twice, and Dinah's Garden hotel is so much better on all counts except location and a better value. I have stayed at The Zen hotel and while cheaper, what you get at the Dinah's is well worth paying a bit more for. I have not tried the Garden Court, but Dinah's Garden was always less than half-price, so I never saw the need. If you are staying in the area and don't mind the 8 extra minute drive "into town", this is the place to stay and for sure better than some places currently higher rated.

Room Tip: The rooms that over look the Koi-pond are best. Buildings 5 and 6. They are spacious and peaceful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peerster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I should preface my comments with the fact that I did not stay at the hotel. A local suggested I have breakfast here so I wandered to the hotel and was blown away by the beautiful gardens and sitting in those beautiful gardens while eating some of the best eggs benedict of my life. It took my breath away. The icing on the cake.. the owner/or hotel manager came around to each table to see how everyone was doing and chatted with each table like a long lost family friend. He even took the time to sit down with me and give me suggestions on where to visit (on foot) as my friends were touring Stanford for the day. A++

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

The room was very spacious and clean. Housekeeping was awesome. Enjoyed the chocolates everyday. The front desk was pleasant and helpful. The only draw backs are there was no tub in our room and I'm a soaker. Outdoor pool was nice, but too cold to swim in. It would have been great if there was a hot tub, to once again soak in. Taxi ride from San Fran was $119. Yikes. Last day used "Best Car Service" 408-985-4237, only $85. Ask for Jeremy as your driver, he was fantastic. Would totally stay here again. Gardens are beautiful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eskape96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed there almost for 20 nights.The room is clean and the housekeeping service is good. The staff is nice. I went there for business trip, the location is so perfect for me. It is in between of our two partner's place in Palo Auto. And it is 30 min to the shopping center which is good for holiday shopping. My room is at first floor with a backyard facing pool side. The room is with heater, so even it is cold in winter time, I still sleep very well. I like the room very much and it becomes my priority place everytime I go to Palo Auto.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyChiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
225 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very nice hotel. Tile floors and spacious room. Quiet and clean. We had a discounted rate with a Groupon deal. Made it worth the stay. On the south edge of Palo Alto. Would stay there again if we got a deal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benthien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
1.1 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#7 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
#8 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
3.5 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#5 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dinah's Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dinah's Garden Hotel

Property: Dinah's Garden Hotel
Address: 4261 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306-4495
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#2 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dinah's Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated since 1957, Dinah’s Garden Hotel in Palo Alto is a lush oasis in Silicon Valley, and was voted “Best Hotel in Palo Alto!” Dinah’s is located near Stanford and the headquarters for the world’s leading businesses. We are California Green Certified and feature gardens, Koi-filled lagoons, well-appointed guestrooms, banquet facilities, two restaurants, and art from around the world. All 97 guestrooms and 32 suites are inspired by decorum from around the globe – creating environments that are both relaxing and productive. Visitors and locals alike love dining casually at Dinah’s Poolside Restaurant or enjoying a first class meal at THE SEA by Alexander’s Steakhouse. Although Dinah’s Garden Hotel is a historic location, we hope you enjoy our modern amenities such as brand new 42” LED televisions, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi and Business Center in the lobby. Come discover why we have been a destination creating a unique brand of hospitality for more than 55 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dinah's Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dinahs Garden
Dinahs Garden Hotel
Dinahs Garden Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing