We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto(Palo Alto)(Great Value!)
$224
$200
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $276/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Parmani(Palo Alto)(Great Value!)
$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Keen(Palo Alto)
$249
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dinah's Garden Hotel(Palo Alto)(Great Value!)
$219
$186
Dinahs Garden
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$315
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Zen Hotel(Palo Alto)(Great Value!)
$219
$209
The Zen Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$499
$424
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$549
$532
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (902)
Filter reviews
902 results
Traveler rating
440
302
92
43
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
440
302
92
43
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsciboattached restaurantcreek runningel caminoshuttle serviceconvenience storelip balmcomplimentary winequiet locationbeautiful groundswithin milesstanford universityfree shuttleparking loton site restaurantthe palo alto areabottled water
Filter
Updating list...
619 - 624 of 902 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed here twice (client required I use their close-by hotel). People at front desk are great - friendly, helpful (walked outside to point me to the building where I was staying - there are like 6-7 buildings, all accessed from outside), offered my complimentary wine and morning coffee, etc. No problem with the people.

Rooms are dated. 1960s style shower, heater, etc.

Biggest challenge was the heater - one of those wall blower types, with no thermostat. So if you want heat or cold, you just turn on the fan and set it to heat or A/C. There is no temp setting - so when you go to bed, get ready to sweat or freeze, as it'll keep going until you get up and turn it off. Really irritating for a $200+/night hotel to not have a simple thermostat where I can just set it to 68 degrees and go to sleep.

And if you are on a floor with someone above you, you will definitely hear them walking around. My "neighbor" got up at 5am and woke me up - doubt he/she was stomping, but it's loud. Definitely recommend top floor if you're a light sleeper.

As for location...it's on a busy street, so there's some road noise. Even if you're a couple buildings back from the road, like I was. Not horrible. Having an onsite deli/grocery store is very convenient for snacks and stuff.

Parking is easy and free. And great running path about 8 blocks away - a park and trail (I got a 6 mile run in - no sidewalks to get to park, but not a very busy street).

Room Tip: Top floor.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The40YearOldDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreeksideMGR, General Manager at Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at the Creekside Inn.I am glad to read that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed many of our amenities including the free wine and morning coffee service. Rest assured, we will definitely follow-up on the issue with the heater and see how we can alleviate the problem. Thank you for choosing the Creekside Inn for your Palo Alto accommodations.

Sincerely,
Luis Carreno
General Manager
Creekside Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stayed here a few years ago and had a spacious balcony room in the front building which I liked very much. This trip we had a double in the side building, it was a little more cramped with an odd layout and a tiny bathroom. It was still very nice: clean, quiet, plenty of room for us, and the gardens provide a shield from street noise. The earth-tones color scheme is a little tired, but it is also relaxing. Internet worked well. The Creekside is a huge step up from the budget motels in the area for just a little more money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank innominate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreeksideMGR, General Manager at Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear innominate,
We are so happy that you returned to our hotel and that your stay was satisfactory. I am pleased you enjoyed our beautiful gardens and clean rooms. We continue to renovate our rooms and I am pleased to inform you that the bathrooms are scheduled to be completed within the next two years. We look forward to your next visit and thank you for staying with us!

Sincerely,
Luis Carreno
General Manager
Creekside Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My partner and I checked in at 2:30 pm and then checked out half an hour later!!! The reviews and pictures that are posted online were very misleading so we thought this was a really nice and cozy place to stay in Palo Alto, but in reality it turned out to be anything but that! The rooms are very dark and depressing. The style of the rooms are very old-fashioned and reminds one of the 70s!
We didn't like this place AT ALL and do not recommend it.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Afarin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreeksideMGR, General Manager at Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Afarin D.,
Thank you for your review and we are very sorry for any inconvenience we may have caused you. Our property continues to undergo renovations and upgrades and we are in the final phase of updating the furniture in all of our rooms, as well as the carpets. The reviews are a reflection of our customers’ feedback and the pictures are of our newly renovated rooms. We hope that you had a good visit to Palo Alto and will give us another chance soon. Thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Luis Carreno
General Manager
Creekisde Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Check-in was easy and quick. Parking near your room is OK if you do not turn up past 10PM otherwise other areas are free within a very short walk.

Had a 2nd floor room, so with no lift it was a pain to lug the bag after a long day and a injured back.

Bathroom looked newly fitted and very high standard. The room was decorated to a modern spec with crisp white linen.

Only downside was there was no central air-con just a blower inserted into the wall with no specific temperature options just high-low. During a cold week mid winter it was noticeable.

Overall, easy to find and slept very well.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed here in November 2013 in what appeared to be a building on the property that appeared to have originally been build in the 1960's. Thin walls, so noise travelled between rooms. Selected this spot because it was more reasonably priced through an internet sprecial than other major brand hotels in the Palo Alto area. It was less expensive, but it was more like a nice motel than a true hotel property. Would only return if price was the major determining factor.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreeksideMGR, General Manager at Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear James B.,
We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Creekside Inn. We have several types of rooms depending on our guest's needs and wants such as our Jr. Suites and full suites as well as our Creek Deluxe rooms. The central location of our hotel in the highly affluent area of Palo Alto determines our pricing tears. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know about your visit to our hotel.

Sincerely,
Luis Carreno
General Manager
Creekside Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews