We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising. Will always choose Creekside Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Surprising. Will always choose Creekside Inn”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I'm not one to ever write comments anywhere but after my experience at the Creekside Inn the last few times, I had to set up an account to write a review. I've stayed there twice with my husband since we come to Stanford often and though at first the Inn looks like a motel, they have done their best to upkeep it. During both of my visits I was startled by the outstanding service I was given by the staff there. When making reservations, the staff was very polite and informative. When my husband and I checked in weeks later, I was so surprised to see that the young lady,Shimali, who made my reservation, remembered talking to us over the phone. She went above and beyond to accommodate us, and show us our room and even show us a couple different rooms later for future stays. She connected with us and never once did I feel like she was just making small talk to be polite when I would be at the front desk waiting for the shuttle/ getting their complimentary pastries. Even the housekeepers were very friendly, and always asking us how we were when we passed by them. When calling the front desk in the evening for extra towels/ shampoos the FD gentleman Derek sent someone right away and even called to make sure we got everything. The shuttle service drivers are also very friendly and accommodating. I honestly felt like the customer service out did even The Ritz.

Only thing I would say is, wish their creek wasn't dry...but I guess that's on Mother Nature

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    233
    77
    34
    17
See reviews for
173
127
50
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed here in October 2012. I stayed for a business trip and if you are looking for motel type accommodation then this is the place for you. Definitely no bells and whistles and would not rush to stay here again unless desperate but the location isn't too bad and the grounds are pretty. Rooms tired, dated but clean and restaurant didn't open on time for breakfast which was annoying but not the worst place I've ever stayed at. Very luke warm review and as others have said, very much akin to how I would imagine a motel to be (not that I've ever stayed in one). Breakfast was however the worst I've ever had. I picked porridge/oatmeal which took what felt like FOREVER to arrive and it was a watery gloop - I have no idea how anyone can mess up porridge, especially a chef but there you go. I had to stop off on the way to work to buy something different.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Undertheoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreeksideMGR, General Manager at Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review about your stay last October. I am pleased that you enjoyed our grounds and location and am happy to report that since your visit we have made many improvements throughout the property and continue to do so. I hope that you will stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Palo Alto.

Thank you,
Luis Carreno
General Manager
Creekside Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This section of El Camino Real has quite a few places to stay and they'd be described as being more like motels than hotels. By this I mean, you park more or less close to your room and access it directly from the outside. Larger rooms with sitting areas that have a couch, coffee table, balcony and television are available. The location is shady & open which was nice. Our room was cute, the beds though were squeaky and the room service was a surprise as we thought it above average for a regular or upscale (like this one) motel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thewindatourfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge MA
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

So, I get this at one of the last-minute site at an OK discount from the $329 price that was a little jaw-dropping, yes, but it's Palo Alto just when Stanford is starting up again and there aren't many rooms, so OK, it's better than the Comfort Inn I stayed in two weeks before in a roughly similar situation when there were no rooms.

Only it wasn't better. Back in the days, they had to build the motels on El Camino Real south of the Stanford property, and there were a lot of them, because even then, Stanford was a destination for people like Herbert Hoover. Some were quite pretty, even pleasant, like the old Rickey's. Some could have been lifted whole from any dusty desert town along Route 66 and plopped there.

This was one of the plops, fixed up to be "hip," but just about as hip as a music-sharing startup whose staff is all over 50. So there's a creekbed through the middle and a certain amount of paint on the outside. And on the inside? Well, it had been fixed up since the fifties, I admit it. It wasn't exactly a dump. But it wasn't exactly not a dump either. My test is the grout in the shower--that's right, shower, no bath at over $300 a night. If it's all the same color, then it's probably OK. And if it's not, then... Well, this one failed the test.

The other test I have for over-$300 hotel rooms is the plugs. I want some. That work. Outside the bathroom. Tough, I know. Back in 1985, you usually had to unplug the TV set to get your laptop plugged in. But this is a little bit later than 1985, I think. So there were some plugs that were supposed to be used by people. But the plugs in the laps seemed to have been put there by Microsoft, because the Apple plugs didn't fit in them. And the ones on the wall, well, when you plug in to them, the plug falls out again.

For $300. Criminy, I could have called my electrician and had him come over and paid him and then paid the motel what I thought it was worth and still had $50 left over.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferlinghetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreeksideMGR, General Manager at Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Creekside Inn. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations as we are constantly updating our facilities, from the landscaping to the rooms. I will be following up on your feedback with our staff to try to improve upon the guest experience and try to avoid any future issues of this kind. Again thank you for your candid feedback and hope that you had a successful visit to Palo Alto.

Sincerely,
Luis Carreno
General Manager
Creekside Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyncote, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I had stayed here pretty much very other week (I commute from Philadelphia) for two years. It had been good, but the rooms were average and I never felt valued even with stays there tide a month. So I moved on to the Stanford Terrace Inn, which met my needs for awhile but became overpriced and a bit strange in some ways. So I took another look at Creekside.

And I'm very glad I did. The management clearly recognizes repeat customers and also values new ones. I was made to feel welcome, and had a room that couldn't be beat. It was quiet, spacious and had much faster wifi speeds than the Stanford Terrace Inn. It's a ten-minute walk to California Avenue, and there is an onsite restaurant that will give free wine to Creekside guests.

I'm already booked here in three weeks and am looking forward to it. Glad to be back.

Room Tip: From a few years ago, I was less enamored with rooms in the D unit but most rooms are good regardles...
See more room tips
Green Features: A lot of green practices; the soap is missing the center portion as that is usually wasted. My only gripe was the lack of recycling bins in the room. At least I didn't find any.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gynmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreeksideMGR, General Manager at Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are so happy to read that we were able to be your home away from during your recent visit to the Palo Alto area. I am glad that you feel welcome at our hotel and that you enjoyed the room and the fast internet service offered complimentary in all our rooms. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again in 3 weeks!
Kind Regards,
Luis Carreno
General Manager
Creekside Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Good location, ample parking. My only complaint is the cost for what you get. Paying roughly $300 for one night didn't make sense once we saw the amenities. I will say, however, the front desk staff was very nice, friendly and helpful. Overall, a good place to stay but overpriced. Oh, go to Indo across the street for dinner/happy hour!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nedarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We came to Palo Alto for our son's Part 2 of his wedding. (First Part in London the week before). Stayed here for 6 nights and it was everything we needed. Attached was Cibo Diner which was lovely but they couldn't quite understand that we liked real good strong coffee! By the 5th breakfast we got it! So nice for me too, to have an iron and ironing board in the room, plus on site there was a Laundry. As we were travelling for another 10 days it was a Godsend.

Room Tip: We overlooked the garden so that was just fine. It is an ideal place to stay for a touring holiday
See more room tips
Green Features: It should be adopted World Wide and the towels weren't changed everyday as in some hotels where they ask you to put them on the floor and STILL change them.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PammyJane24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
1.1 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
969 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
#10 of 27 in Palo Alto
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
2.4 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#4 of 27 in Palo Alto
399 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
#20 of 27 in Palo Alto
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel

Property: Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
Address: 3400 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306-2702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palo Alto
#3 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
#6 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a charming boutique hotel in beautiful Palo Alto, California. Set along a scenic creek and gardens, the Creekside Inn offers contemporary accommodations, meeting rooms and event space, electric vehicle charging stations, on-site dining, an outdoor heated pool and a local hybrid car shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creekside Hotel Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing