We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Shoreview, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights while on business nearby. My 4th floor room was cozy, clean and comfortable. Great service, very friendly when I checked in. Ordered room service for breakfast both days and was very pleased. I was dissappointed I didn't get a chance to try to wine in the restaurant. It was a nice added bonus.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moxy_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    233
    77
    34
    17
See reviews for
173
126
50
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna Va
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I was here on business and my wife was sightseeing. We were really pleased with this hotel. The room was well equipped and quiet. My only complaint was the pocket (sliding) door to the bathroom, which was heavy and somewhat hard to move. The front desk service was terrific. Free evening wine in the adjoining restaurant was good enough. My rate included a hot breakfast, which was nice, though limited to eggs entrees with toast, juice and coffee. Traffic here was light enough and the location was convenient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyZ18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The service was 5 stars. Edwin did a great job making me feel at home and helping me finding nearby dining and reccomened the Fish Market which was great. I've never checked in to a hotel and had such a friendly front desk experience. He followed up with a phone call to make sure everything was fine and replace my pillows with feather ones. The hotel has a very pleasent feel(kind of tropical). The only thing I did not like was that they had no juice for breakfast. Definitely reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shortcake89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The service was excellent and made us feel comfortable. it felt like home. It was very clean and
the shuttle service was accommodating. The people treated us like family. The place gave you
calmness and peace. The fountains, beautiful gardens and the nature surrounding the hotel rooms
create a reflective atmosphere. The rate was so reasonable. This will be our hotel in Palo Alto from now on!

Room Tip: Talk to Elena, the reservation coordinator, about the room that you need and want. She will definit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patent2patent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I felt sick to my stomach when the Super Shuttle pulled into hotel's parking lot, and it wasn't from carsickness. I realized I was paying $300/night for a 40 yr. old MOTEL room with an exterior entrance and some fancy plants in the courtyard. The landscaping around the paths and courtyards looks nice, but that's not where I slept.

The room was clean, and there was an in-room coffee pot with free coffee. And free toiletries that claimed to be all ecofriendly and green. That's about all the positives I can remember. They offered free shuttle service and it worked to get me to Stanford in the mornings, but the evenings were a crap shoot. I'd often be left standing on the sidewalk for 30-45 min. waiting for the driver and they'd claim the delay was because of heavy traffic although it was past 8pm. Negatives: scratchy towels that felt like a thin cheap paper towel, tiny bathroom and shower, worn-out mattress with very little support left in it, road noise from El Camino Real (I was in Rm. 344). Although the hotel seemed empty, they put me in a room that was very close to the busy road, which I didn't appreciate.

This place was depressing and I dreaded returning here each night. It should have been bulldozed in 1990 and then they could have started fresh from the ground up. I think they did all the landscaping work to try and cover up the fact that the whole complex is a bunch of run-down old buildings. Yes, there are some relaxing corners in the garden with bubbling fountains, but those aren't more important than a decent bed to sleep in and a decent bathroom.

I wouldn't recommend this MOTEL to any friend or colleague coming to Palo Alto. Maybe the price I paid was driven upwards because I was attending a conference and there were many visitors seeking few rooms. The cost was just way, way out of proportion to the quality of lodging.

Buyer beware on the Creekside Inn. They had a great photographer for those shots that are on their website, but why do you think so many shots are of the landscaping?

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ambough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreeksideMGR, Director of Sales at Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest;

Although we are extremely disappointed we did not meet your expectations, we do appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at the Creekside Inn. While it is true our property is a longstanding fixture in the Palo Alto community and borders on having historical landmark status, our owners have gone to great lengths to provide a comfortable experience for our guests. We realize our boutique style hotel spread over 3.5 landscaped acres may not appeal to everyone. Many of our loyal customers appreciate a different experience. Additionally, our room types vary in size. We apologize for any inconvenience the delay of our shuttle service may have caused and have taken measures to correct any scheduling issues. As for the bedding, we have recently upgraded our mattresses.




Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Toya Barnette
Director of Sales & Marketing
The Creekside Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We chose this hotel due to it's proximity to the Stanford campus as we were moving our son into his dorm after a long drive to the area. The rates were very reasonable for the accommodations that are offered. We stayed in a suite as our son was with us the first evening of our arrival which made the rate much more affordable than two hotel rooms would have cost. A selection of restaurants at the facility and in walking distance was another convenience and I loved the small kitchenette should I desire to stay longer than a couple nights in future stays. We did not have the opportunity to use the gym or pool facilities during our stay. Wireless internet access and a happy hour and breakfast (coffee/pastries) were offered at no additional charge. We were fortunate to be in a very quiet location of the facility as well. I would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: The suite we stayed in in Building F was very quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJM2320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have all positive things to say about this hotel. From the time I checked in to check out 4 days later, I felt quite comfortable at this adorable hotel. I was very fortunate to show up at the hotel to see if I wanted to stay at this hotel. I was so kindly helped by Solomon, at the front desk. He showed me a few room options and this is what sealed it for me! He was incredibly friendly and helpful and I felt welcome. I was on the second floor with a private patio, overlooking a beautiful creekside view. The hotel actually looks like the pics on the website! I enjoyed all of the amenities! The exercise room, pool, courtyard for drinks with friends in the evening....... Just fabulous! I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: A room with a king size bed is the way to go for the private balcony. Very comfortable beds too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
1.1 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
967 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
#10 of 27 in Palo Alto
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
2.4 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#4 of 27 in Palo Alto
399 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
#20 of 27 in Palo Alto
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel

Property: Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
Address: 3400 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306-2702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palo Alto
#3 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
#6 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a charming boutique hotel in beautiful Palo Alto, California. Set along a scenic creek and gardens, the Creekside Inn offers contemporary accommodations, meeting rooms and event space, electric vehicle charging stations, on-site dining, an outdoor heated pool and a local hybrid car shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creekside Hotel Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing