We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay here if you'd like to sleep!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Creekside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Creekside Inn
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Berkeley
1 review
“Don't stay here if you'd like to sleep!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2008

The builder of this hotel must have had a warped sense of humor. We stayed in the 5-story "Tower" and all doors (exterior and interior) were built to slam shut; the lighting was dim (not cozy, just dim); all night we heard (in great detail) our neighbors using their toilet followed by the loudest flush in the West. For medical reasons we had politely requested two quiet rooms and were told that would be no problem; however, one of our rooms faced the noisy street and the other room was adjacent to the exterior door and the elevator shaft which creaked, hummed and groaned all night. Could this oversight be due to the "special Stanford Hospital" rate we were given?

The adjacent restaurant (Cibo) was wonderfully staffed with courteous gentlemen who served excellent food. The small hotel fitness room had excellent equipment. The mini-market closed very early and had little inventory of any use (unless all you want is liquor).

The beds were very comfortable!!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank ColusaBerkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    216
    72
    33
    16
See reviews for
145
114
46
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2008

The Creekside Inn is beautiful from the outside. Fresh paint, trees and streams. Just don't book a room. The room we booked was a Kingsize with view of streams. The problem was a 3x3 foot shower, that you could not turn around in. The mat on the shower floor just covered up the drain, but that was due to the small size of the shower itself. Glasses supplied were just bare with no sanitary covering, and in checking the maid's carts, there were only a couple of glasses, so somehow they were shing the glasses, but not replacing or washing them (maybe a rinse). The bed was very old, and the amenities were minimal. Essentially, part of the hotel were converted motel rooms, and we got one. The Deli advertised had very limited hours and days. The "view of the streams, required you to leave the room and move outside. The streams were beautiful, but not visible from room. The light bulbs had all been reduced to wattages that did not give enough light to read at night. The staff was excellent, very sympathetic, but power less. There must be some excellent rooms, but it is just luck of the draw on getting one. The hotel was not booked to capacity during our stay.

  • Liked — Outside landscaping
  • Disliked — The accomodation itself
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank 101345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas USA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2008

THIS IS THE BEST VALUE IN SILICON INN. The rooms are well appointed and clean-- it is very comfortable, convenient, value-priced, good service, and I felt safe (woman traveling on business alone). Skip the restaurant though, the food was atrocious. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Value and well appointed room-- even though it is a spruced-up motel.
  • Disliked — Lack of good food options, excessive noise from being a motel.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MauiMarried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, MN
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2008

I stayed for 6 nights in a luxury king room near the fountain and garden. Room had all features I was looking for such as these: very comfortable bed, chair and ottoman; exceptionally clean bathroom with plenty of towels; and a spacious desk with adjustable lamp and comfortable desk chair. One thing that gave a luxury, clean feel to the bed was the extra sheet on top of the blanket. This was a great touch along with several extra pillows. It seems the Creedside thought of everything I might need and had it available. I especially liked the complimentary bottled water since I often don't like to drink from the tap and often forget to bring water. I was most impressed by the convenience of having a chauffered town car available for my trips to Stanford and to other Palo Alto spots. Staff was helpful and friendly. I liked the unassuming character and charm of this intimate hotel better than some newer but high-priced, impersonal hotels. Oh, I almost forgot to mention the great deli onsite with wonderful sandwiches and friendly owners.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank TheresaMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2007

I stayed here twice in a week. I was staying at the Tower on both occasions. On the first stay, I was given a room facing the road and it was noisy. On the second stay, I requested for a room facing the courtyard and it was quiet.

The room is well appointed and the location is very near Stanford shopping centre.

Simple breakfast is served at the reception, ranging from muffins and donuts.

I would definitely come back to stay!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoodleSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2007

Stayed at the Creekside Inn 8/7-8/9 on a business trip. The hotel (really converted motel) is clean, fairly modern, and very convenient to the tech area of Palo Alto.

Check in was easy - no problems. The Creekside is layed out as several detached two story buildings with exterior entrances. The back buildings are a little dark at night so if that spooks you request a room closer to the front desk area.

Room was large and very clean. Lot's of amenities - free wifi, free bottled water, lots of included toiletries, good work area, large TV with plenty of channels. Bed was comfortable and shower had plenty of water pressure. There is also a fridge, safe, and iron and ironing board in the room. I got the sense this place was trying to follow the Westin model and they are pretty close.

Housekeeping was a bit loud in the AM - starting at 8:00 AM.

There is a restaurant on site that provides room service (I did not use). Plenty of restaurants within a mile or two . The fish market restaurant is within walking distance. University Avenue restaurants and shops (nice area) are about a 3 mile drive.

All in all a solid place to stay. They try hard - from the nice grounds to the thoughtful amenities. I would stay here again.

  • Liked — Thoughtful amenities...
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Familytripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2007

The Creekside was a great surprise. I had read all the Tripadvisor reviews and took the plunge and booked a 6 day stay.
I was so happy there. It was my first time in Palo Alto and the prices of the other BIG hotels SHOCKED me. I wasn't on an expense account and I certainly didn't want to pay upwards of $400 to $650 a night at the Westin etc.
The Creekside was very cute. Very clean rooms. Very cute courtyard atmosphere. Very quiet. It was surprisingly quiet in the hubbub and hoopla of El Camino Real. Very efficient, friendly, helpful front desk. Nice access to computer w/ printer in lobby. I had free wireless in the room too.
The little pool was heated and clean and a nice dip refreshed me after dealing with the terrible Palo Alto traffic. (I didn't use the FREE town-car shuttle to anywhere in a 5 mile radius of the hotel...but how cool is that???)
The free coffee and muffins and bagels and tea in the lobby in the AM were delicious and grainy and healthy. Wonderful bathroom products were replenished each day by housekeeper. The small gym had everything you need for a good workout and was clean and cool. Funky deli next to gym was convenient for filling my in room QUIET mini fridge with drinks and fruit and yogurt.
The restaurant attached to the Creekside, CIBO, was so yummy!
It was also the fastest room service I have ever experienced. A full breakfast for 2 arrived at our door less than 10 minutes after we ordered (each morning so not a fluke). Dinners arrived piping hot and delicious.
I would go back to the Creekside
Checkout was easy.No surprises.
I also recommend the taco restaurant EL GRULLENSE one block down the street as a great place to have some very authentic tacos in a clean but no frills environment

  • Liked — Quiet, Clean, very cute and contemporary
  • Disliked — I wish the in room airconditioner had been quieter and more even.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank curiousinconnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
1.1 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palo Alto
2.2 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
2.4 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#5 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
#8 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creekside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creekside Inn

Property: Creekside Inn
Address: 3400 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palo Alto
#3 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
#6 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Creekside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Creekside Inn is a charming 136 room hotel located in the heart of California’s Silicon Valley, 2 miles from downtown Palo Alto and Stanford University. Situated on 3.5 beautifully landscaped acres, our guest rooms and suites are nestled in a park-like, creek side setting. Choose from standard, superior and deluxe rooms, as well as suites with kitchens. Ideal for business and leisure travelers, the Creekside Inn represents value that’s truly a find. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Creekside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creekside Hotel Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing