We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you need, plus the beauty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Creekside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Creekside Inn
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything you need, plus the beauty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

I recently stayed a month at the Creekside Inn. I was pleasantly surprised at how friendly the staff was during our entire stay. Lindo Perez, the Assistant General Manager, was especially kind and professional. In fact, all of the staff at the front desk were fabulous. Prabin was the first staff member we dealt with and he provided wonderful service that set the tone for the rest of our stay.

The Room: Was clean, quiet, and roomy. We had a corner unit with a separate sitting area. Our first floor guest room opened up to a nice patio area where we could sit and watch the squirrels and the serene little creek.

The Restaurant: Wow! I loved this restaurant! The staff was accommodating to my son's special diet, and the food was always presented in a timely manner and was delicious every single time. I can't tell you how refreshing that was. Normally restaurants disappoint me after dining there a few times. Cibo's never did.

The Driftwood Market: This too, was a great place to get foodstuffs and great sandwiches. This hotel may be on the pricy side, but it was unique and it left us missing the beautiful grounds and great people.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper levels, since this hotel has a lot of wood that creaks. It is a charming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreeksideMGR, General Manager at Creekside Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest;

Thank you so much for taking the time to express your appreciation of our hotel as well as our wonderful staff and service! Your kind and generous comments have certainly made our day. We hope your travels bring you back soon, as we would be especially delighted to welcome you again!

Kind regards and safe travels,

Luis Carreno
General Manager
Creekside Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    217
    74
    34
    16
See reviews for
148
117
46
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

I had the opportunity to stayed at this hotel while attending a Forum at Stanford University, in last April. Definitely a great experience; well located, peaceful, very green... The rooms (the whole group of the forum booked more than 20 rooms) were all comfortable, large... the view from the balcony was very nice, though giving me the opportunity to enjoy mornings and evenings... a relaxing after whole day conferences.

The service offered by the managers, staff at the front desk, were just perfect, especially the one given by Mr. Prabin Thapa, who helped a lot all the students throughout the week, and more important during the departure day, though the students we had different schedules, flight itineraries, ... and we were very nervous about our transportation to different locations, mainly to the airport, Mr. Thapa got to calm people down advising us how to book the shuttles, making jokes, and having great talks. Ah! the housekeepers always smiling, but from the bottom of their heart... and always ready to help too.

Even if I am a smoker, I can tell that the place is great for those who hate smoke-smell all around the location, or in the rooms (I hate the smell in hotels rooms too). There are designated areas for smoking.

The restaurant/bar was very nice too, offering good food and drinks, and the staff there was also very attentive.

I definitely recommend the place. If I can ever complaint about something, is the fact that they do not provide water bottles, after the first complementary ones are gone... anyways, there is a convenience store right in the same location, and also just across the street there is another one where actually the clerk was very nice too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nehemias J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Excellent experience. The Manager went out of her way and smoothed over a difficult booking via Hotels.com. My room was large, quiet and comfortable with a pretty view of the creek from my private terrace. It was surprising how quiet it was, because it is located on the El Camino Real - a busy street. A restaurant (Cibo) and a small convienience store are also located on the property. My bed was very, very comfortable. Thank you Prabin and the entire staff at the Creekside Inn!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back along the creek are very quiet and offer little terraces with a patio table and ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed here four nights for a family trip and enjoyed our stay. Two adults and two young boys (ages 8 and 4 at the time of the trip). The room was small, but fine, since most of our trip was spent out and about. The bathroom was small, but clean, and fine. The grounds are very pretty, landscaped very nicely, parking is easy, the hotel is close to Whole Foods, and to several other shopping areas. It's easy to get to freeways from the hotel. Our room was quiet at night. Our two young sons had a lot of fun playing in the pool.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susannah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is an old property but kept clean.

Rooms have large beds but have small showers.

The internet (free) is very slow there and my phone reception was very bad, I had problems making business calls.

The location of the hotel isn't perfect either but if you have a car there is a free parking so you can quickly drive to any place you need.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyprianc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Creekside Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest;

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at the Creekside Inn!

While we are very different than some of our brand competitors, our charming boutique style hotel borders on historical landmark status with over fifty years in the Palo Alto community and we take pride in keeping the property fresh. We have recently upgraded our Deluxe Creek King rooms with new furnishings, bathroom fixtures and overall décor. Additionally, we have installed more bandwidth to accommodate multiple internet devices.

Although there are many restaurants within walking distance, perhaps you were not able to take advantage of our most popular value packed amenity during your visit; however, our complimentary shuttle service will gladly transport guests anywhere within a five mile radius of the hotel.

We certainly appreciate your business and hope to welcome you back soon as there is always something new to discover at the Creekside Inn!

Kind regards and safe travels,


Luis Carreno
General Manager
Creekside Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Excellent experience. Our room was very quiet and clean with a comfortable bed. Very pleasant view too. The staff went above and beyond the call of duty to assist. Others have mentioned Prabin specifically. He is absolutely terrific - thank you Prabin and the entire team at Creekside Inn. A refreshing gem of a hotel in Palo Alto.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plenty_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

This hotel was horrible! We booked the hotel based on previous reviews and pictures on the internet. Because of our reservation 8 other families decided to book their hotel there for a group trip we were planning. When we arrived we were not impressed by the look of the hotel at all. When we went to check in at 3 pm at the posted check in time, our room was not ready. It wasn't ready for almost another hour and unfortunatly this was the case for half of our group. The room were very small, which is actually fine, but they were also smelly and not clean!!!! Some families got tiny rooms when they paid less than other families who paid more! For as big as the hotel is, the pool was tiny and quickly crowded. The staff made the whole experience even worse. They were unacccomodating, unaplogetic, rude, and complacent. Save yourself the headache and find another hotel. Trust me, you will regret staying there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Creekside Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Although we are disappointed we did not meet your expectations, we appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at the Creekside Inn. We apologize for the delayed check in, as it was an extremely busy weekend, and are sorry you felt our staff was not helpful. Group bookings are usually done through our sales department and have a negotiated room block will ensure room type availability as well as a smoother check in process since rooms are pre-keyed prior to arrival. We are truly sorry that you were unhappy with our efforts, though we did upgrade some of your group members to large suites. We are also sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the cleanliness of your room, as our housekeepers are held to the highest industry standards.


Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.

Kind Regards and Safe travels,

Luis Carreno
General Manager
Creekside Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
1.1 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
#8 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
2.4 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#5 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creekside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creekside Inn

Property: Creekside Inn
Address: 3400 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palo Alto
#3 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
#6 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Creekside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Creekside Inn is a charming 136 room hotel located in the heart of California’s Silicon Valley, 2 miles from downtown Palo Alto and Stanford University. Situated on 3.5 beautifully landscaped acres, our guest rooms and suites are nestled in a park-like, creek side setting. Choose from standard, superior and deluxe rooms, as well as suites with kitchens. Ideal for business and leisure travelers, the Creekside Inn represents value that’s truly a find. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Creekside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creekside Hotel Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing