We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast; rate much expensive for my shabby room”
Review of Cowper Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cowper Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Palo Alto B&B and Inns
Novato
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good breakfast; rate much expensive for my shabby room”
Reviewed July 23, 2011

The inn has two houses. I can't comment on the main house. My room was in the Victorian next door. That house is badly in need of upgrades and repairs. It smells musty. The walls and floors seem to be paper thin - you will hear every sound your neighbors make - next door and above. When they shower at 6 a.m., sounds like you're standing under Niagra Falls. The window locks in my room were all broken. I did not feel comfortable staying in a room that could not be secured. I found the place shabby, and not in a good way. The bed, however, we very comfortable with lovely, soft sheets. The breakfast was very good. All in all, I'd not return.

Room Tip: I'd try the main house, and a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank novatohunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    20
    9
    8
    8
See reviews for
10
16
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2010

This was my second visit to the Cowper Inn, a lovely B&B. The location is great and the staff are very helpful without being intrusive. I looked forward to the breakfast each morning-organic choices, fresh squeezed OJ, Peet's coffee, homemade granola, and fresh scrambled eggs were some of the offerings. The Inn also offers free internet. Lovely sitting area with a fireplace. Room was nice and well-maintained.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel_pkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

The Cowper Inn is a charming B&B centrally located in Palo Alto, within walking distance to shops and restaurants in town. The breakfast was wonderful - freshly squeezed orange juice, homemade granola, organic yogurt, breads, eggs, etc. The rooms (the one I stayed in as well as the ones my siblings stayed in) were very clean. The bathrooms provide Aveda personal care items (shampoo, lotion). The breakfast/sitting area is also very cozy, and with the large windows, you get really nice sunshine in the morning. The value is quite typical for B&B's. My stay was very relaxing!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yogini79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

I cannot imagine a better place to stay in Palo Alto than the Cowper Inn. This is a charming and comfortable home away from home. I opened my windows that look out on a huge redwood, and had a soft breeze wafting through my room each night. The staff is always warm and helpful, but also do not intrude in your space like some B and Bs. It is located perfectly so you can walk everywhere in town. It is a hidden jewel in this town of expensive and charmless hotels.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank val1323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We stayed in a room in the basement for almost $200/night. Many features didn't work or worked poorly. It gave me the impression of having been "fixed up" by somebody who didn't know or care what they were doing. Nobody was there when we got there. We never met or talked to anybody except a polite youngster who was not knowledgeable. The curtains didn't work, the shower barely had the power to get you wet. the bath fan worked but was so plugged with dirt that it was totally ineffective. The room was so narrow that with the head of the bed against one wall the suitcase wouldn't fit between the foot of the bed and the far wall. It had to be carried over the bed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dstone2972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2010

I spent 3 and a half weeks at the Cowper Inn while looking for an apartment after moving to Palo Alto. It's set in two very old (by US standards) houses very close to downtown. The rooms are quite quaint with antique furniture throughout. Despite being quite old, it's very well preserved and the staff keep it very clean.

The breakfasts were lovely, including home-made muesli and granola, fruit salad and at least one (I think organic) egg option per day. There's not the same choice that you'd see at a big hotel but the quality was very good. The owner and staff are very friendly and still say hi to me when I bump into them walking round the town.

Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank fasaxc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We were in the middle of relocating to Palo Alto from Texas and stayed in a cheap motel to cut costs while looking for an apartment. We came to this B&B when we couldn't stand the cheap motel anymore!
We gave the manager a difficult time: we didn't book in advance and we brought 2 small children with us (she wasn't told about our children when the booking was made). She handled that graciously and we had a fabulous stay. All the cleaning staff that I ever met were very friendly and helpful, and said my kids were precious. The breakfast was delicious: organic yogurt, fresh fruit, homemade granola, eggs, bread and bagels, fresh-squeezed orange juice, etc.
The first review that mentioned dirty rooms and weak breakfast must have been talking about a different place!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mirandalola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
0.2 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#4 of 27 in Palo Alto
387 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
2.3 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#7 of 27 in Palo Alto
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Keen
Hotel Keen
#18 of 27 in Palo Alto
189 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
841 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cowper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cowper Inn

Property: Cowper Inn
Address: 705 Cowper St, Palo Alto, CA 94301-2603
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cowper Inn is a beautifully restored Craftsman style house that recreates the comfort and elegance of the period's best homes. The parlor, with several conversation areas, a fireplace, and a piano, is a warm and gracious room for visiting or relaxing. Each uniquely shaped guest room is furnished with antiques, television, and telephone. Breakfast, featuring seasonal fruit and fresh-baked breads, is served daily in the paneled dining room. Guests may enjoy sitting outside on the two wicker-decorated porches or in the garden. There is parking on the grounds and easy access to public transportation to San Francisco and San Jose. The Inn is part of the quiet residential neighborhood of Professorville. Downtown Palo Alto's restaurants, shops, and people watching are a two minute walk from the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cowper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cowper Hotel Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing