We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unless you're desperate for a motel near campus, keep looking elsewhere.”
Review of Berbeda Place

Berbeda Place
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Berbeda Place
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

This is really is just a motel: small rooms and a place to park the car. On the plus side, my room was clean, had a comfortable bed, big flat screen TV. How small was the room? i could just about reach from the bed through the window to start my car. it also had an old battery in the smoke detector causing it to go off at 2 am. Did I mention the room rate? $225. Rooms at the Sheraton a mile or so down El Camino, are less expensive and it's far nicer.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gmrossiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 39 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed here on a business trip. It was the only hotel available for the dates I needed. Upon checkin I realized the hotel was not in a good part of town and only offered ground level roome. The room interior was ok however the shower was disgusting. It had black stuff growing in it and the room smelled old. I showered in my socks! I was previously a consultant and have stayed in multiple hotels and I wouldn't recommend this one.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Terrific location on El Camino just walking distance from blocks and blocks of shopping, restaurants, coffee and much much more. Hop in the car and you are minutes from Stanford Shopping Center. The lodge is older; but rooms are updated and decorated nicely. Friendly run lodge with the comforts of home. With parking right outside your room, this is a great place for a business trip stay, couples, and families.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I am a Customer Service Representative for a well known corporate travel agency. Today I received a concern from a client who found the property to be unsafe and the room unsatisfactory (located in a bad neighborhood, room on ground level, etc.) The client returned her room key and due to no other vacancies the client had to drive the remaining three hours home. As a Customer Service Representative, I contacted the hotel directly on behalf of the client to see if they would consider refunding the client, but they would not budge. On top of this, the service provided by Mike the General Manager was unacceptable. He refused to listen, talked over me and hung up on me. I would suggest never confirming a reservation at this property.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Sami K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Great location, friendly staff, located around great restaurants and very close to major attractions in the heart of Silicon Valley. The rooms are clean and well decorated. If you are in town for business or just dropping by to check out a game at Stanford, this would be the place to go.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Excellent Palo Alto location, on El Camino Real just S. of Stanford University but away from university and downtown congestion, small project with EZ access, park in front of your room, older motel with rooms upgraded and wired for today's devices, family run with thorough knowledge of the area, terrific service, basic amenities, perfect for the business traveler and tourist needing just the basics, my first recommendation for friends and clients needing a place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms off the street and in back are in the middle of the block, and away from traffic and noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This property is very well-situated on El Camino Real close to the California Avenue business and restaurant district. The remodeled rooms are kept spotlessly clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. The rates are a terrific bargain. I don't mind that there aren't a lot of amenities since the area already has so much to offer. The beds are extremely comfortable and there is surprisingly little traffic noise.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
0.0 mi away
Stanford Motor Inn
Stanford Motor Inn
#20 of 27 in Palo Alto
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Palo Alto Silicon Valley
0.4 mi away
The Nest Palo Alto
The Nest Palo Alto
#18 of 27 in Palo Alto
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Keen
Hotel Keen
#17 of 27 in Palo Alto
210 reviews
1.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Palo Alto
0.8 mi away
Stanford Terrace Inn
Stanford Terrace Inn
#25 of 27 in Palo Alto
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berbeda Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berbeda Place

Address: 3339 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306-2804
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range: $227 - $535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Berbeda Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berbeda Place is a unique and stylish boutique experience for today’s solo business traveler on the go visiting the Palo Alto area. We are located in the birthplace of Silicon Valley near world re-known Stanford University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Berbeda Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing