We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and friendly service”
Review of Joanie's Cafe

Joanie's Cafe
Ranked #10 of 361 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,967 reviews
1,125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 637 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Joanies is a good place for breakfast, lunch or dinner. It opens early for breakfasts and one can sit indoors or outside on pavement tables. The atmosphere is casual. You are greeted with a smile and service continues to be efficient. The prawns in lobster sauce on top of cheese ravioli were extremely rich but good and the garden burger was also fine. Mains are accompanied by fries, salad or fruit. The café is licensed and is good on wine but has a very limited range of beers.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank profjoypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    74
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Solid”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

If your looking for a nice comfortable place to get a descent meal Joanie's is fine. I liked it better before the move and remodel. Have been going for years.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mic K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Went a couple of times for breakfast in late July. Consistent. Pancakes good. Omelettes good. Hard to beat for breakfast.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sgood111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What a pleasure! Solid food and service, every time!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

My son and I recently visited Palo Alto. We were rather hungry and tired after an exhausting 33 hour trip from our home in South Africa. A Palo Alto local recommended we go to Joanie's as it was within walking distance of where we stayed, and we promptly took the short walk for a late lunch. Wow! We were blown away by the efficient service and overall value offering, and subsequently went back again a few more times for breakfasts and lunches over the course of the next two weeks. We were really very satisfied with the following:
* Portion sizes are rather large (is this the USA standard?), and certainly take care of any hunger pangs;
* The speed of service (time taken from ordering to receiving our meals) is amazingly quick - every time!;
* The food is really fresh and wholesome;
* The waiting staff are very friendly and efficient;
* We specifically enjoyed the fact that both our chilled water glasses and coffee mugs were continuously refilled (until we could drink no more).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AceBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Deservedly popular with the locals for brunch”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I lived in Palo Alto for years and we went to Joanie's nearly every weekend for a nice late breakfast. New location in 2012, but the same generous portions and yummy omelets. There will be a wait on weekends, but service is efficient and the waiting list moves pretty quickly. Good menu, nice people.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deewigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joanie's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Joanie's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing