We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that great anymore”
Review of The Fish Market

The Fish Market
Ranked #3 of 361 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Our first restaurant has been a Palo Alto institution since its doors opened in 1976. With the brand new addition of an oyster bar, cocktail bar and lounge area, there are now even more ways to experience this unique restaurant. The expansive retail market remains a popular stop for local residents seeking to take home the finest in fresh fish.
stanford
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not that great anymore”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This used to be one of our favorite restaurants but on several recent visits we changed our minds.

The bread was excellent but the main courses were not. One of the fish dishes was undercooked (I enjoy sashimi but this was something else) The vegetables were blah and the service was not great.

We are not returning, there are many better restaurants in the area,

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mizlibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    243
    76
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent Food with GREAT service!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great meal. It was nice to see the chefs cooking behind glass. For kids a favorite is the Gumbo Shrimp. I have not eaten any better shrimp. I will go here again. I recommend this place to any "seafood fans."

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maximilian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fresh Oyster during Happy Hours”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have visited this restaurant for several times, I peronally enjoy the discounted price oyster and Cherry Clam on the half shell during 'Happy Hours', good in both quality and value.
Bar services is average but efficient. Food served are fresh and good, but prices are a bit expensive, but it's normal and expensive in Palo Alto.
Restaurant's decoration are 'standard' Fish market decor, and identical with the other branches.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst "Fish Market" meal ever”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

The general quality of the meal was quite bland. Its been several years since I have eaten at a "Fish Market", and I felt that the prices had increased considerably since the last time. The fish was flavorless, but the sides (2 vegetable sides) were good. Altogether, not a very good value.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Waffles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mokena
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, service and price.”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Best restaurant I have visited in the area! Although I arrived shortly after 6 pm, I was still given the early bird menu which had an excellent selection for only $14.00. The salad was delightful with homemade dressings. In addition it came with two sides. I had a delicious rice and cherry tomatoes with basil. Both excellent. My dijon encrusted tilapia was the best tilapia I have ever eaten. Light and tasty. Our waitress, Cassandra was extremely efficient and personable. Although crowded, food arrived in a reasonable time. Yes, this is "as good as it gets!".

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dor2427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to The Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing