We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For fish, no need to look any further!”
Review of The Fish Market

The Fish Market
Ranked #4 of 356 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our first restaurant has been a Palo Alto institution since its doors opened in 1976. With the brand new addition of an oyster bar, cocktail bar and lounge area, there are now even more ways to experience this unique restaurant. The expansive retail market remains a popular stop for local residents seeking to take home the finest in fresh fish.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
368 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“For fish, no need to look any further!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

The place smells fish, as there is a large market counter at the entry for buying fresh fish.
The place menu is great, as long as you like fish or seafood.
We started with an assortement of 3 different kinds of oyesters, the recommendation would have been spot-on, clearly the most tasty juicy oyesters of the 3 different kinds.
The DUNGENESS CRAB CIOPPINO was fantastic, and small size was great for me.
I will certainly be back!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Finn_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    230
    71
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
242 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Deservedly an Institution”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Dinner here with my wife tonight. We liked it a lot. Traveling here to visit with our son, and we've already resolved to return to the Fish a Market, next weekend. It's a cavernous place, but not all in one space, and it's exactly what you want a seafood restaurant to look like-wood floors, captain's chairs. It feels very much like you should be looking out the window at the harbor, in Nantucket or Half Moon Bay. I had one of the 3 "Specialties," jumbo garlic prawns with past ($17.25). I love garlic, and I adore butter, but, for the first time in my life, I'm going to tell all listeners that there was simply too much butter in this dish. Very good, but too buttery. My wife had the Black Mussels ($14.95). She's a card-carrying Mussel Freak, and she liked these very much. We each had wine (Kim Crawford Sauvignon Blanc, $8.25; Chateau St. Jean Chardonnay, 2 glasses at $7.25 ea.). Lastly, we succumbed to two deserts, Creme Brûlée (good, declared my wife, $7.50, and a sinful Snickerdoodle Brownie with Vanilla Ice a Cream, also $7.50. We waddled happily home afterwards. Efficient, bustling service.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank aowats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
229 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“It was alright ...”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Was looking forward to eating here after many favorable reviews. I was there for lunch and was easily seated, we were there just before noon rush. Saw the swordfish sandwich on foccia bread and ordered it with fries. Sandwich was a good size, but the swordfish portion was quite small, small enough that I could not really taste the fish through the tomato and lettuce that was on the bun, fries were warm at best. Server was really nice and friendly .... but it just didnt turn my crank, maybe a dinner here would be different.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikeyC181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fish Market Shines”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Every time we go to The fish Market we are amazed at a # of things...
1)The # of people who must agree with us..
2) The quality of the food...
3) The generous portions provided...
4) The excellent service...
5) The value for the $$ spent!
Intend to go more often in 2014....
Parking is sometimes a bit of a challenge....but the challenge is worth it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ironmansteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Interesting Place with Some Good Meals”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This restaurant is clean as a whistle! The service was good too. Some of our four dishes were very good while some were just OK. The fries were very ordinary (out of the package) and cold. One meal was very passable. However, when I'm back in the area, I'll try again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Warren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to The Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing