We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still Fine After All These Years”
Review of The Fish Market

The Fish Market
Ranked #4 of 356 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our first restaurant has been a Palo Alto institution since its doors opened in 1976. With the brand new addition of an oyster bar, cocktail bar and lounge area, there are now even more ways to experience this unique restaurant. The expansive retail market remains a popular stop for local residents seeking to take home the finest in fresh fish.
Palo Alto
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Still Fine After All These Years”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I ate lunch at the Fish Market probably once a week in the 90s, and liked it then. I still like it, but because I no longer work within walking distance of it, I generally go there for dinner now, usually in tandem with a movie at the theatres in Two Palo Alto Square. The prices have gone up in the last couple of years, but the prices are fair enough. Their fish is terrific -- I especially like their blackened swordfish and their Pacific Scrimp with Bacon dishes. And the sourdough bread that they bring to your table every time is terrific. They also have a nice selection of wines which are reasonably priced.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Timothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    232
    72
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nome, Alaska
Level Contributor
182 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Cold plates =cold food”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

It is hard to tell if anyone is on charge of this zoo-like restaurant. Food would be ok if it was served hot and didn't look like an accident on a plate. Reviewers are very easily pleased, which os why eating here is such a mediocre experience. The atmosphere is hysterical and does not provide a pleasant venue for enjoying a meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Magellan008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
96 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Ambience was truly a delightful "Fish Market"”
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

We arrived around 6PM on a Sunday, and the customer crowd quickly grew. Plenty of friendly servers, orders taken quickly ... The menu of this eatery was great in choices and price ... and is quickly provided, even the wine. Although the restrooms are quite a walk, you
get to pass the bar ... check out all the pictures of big fishes and
beautiful boats. You can observe the
Market's cleanliness and neat display of fresh seafood in the display case. By then, you may have been lucky to get one of the close parking spots. Enjoy yourself in this seafood eatery!!

Helpful?
Thank Booper454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,796 reviews
1,023 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 589 helpful votes
“Tremendous variety”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This is definitely the place for those who enjoy a good choice of fresh fish. There are numerous varieties to choose from. I can personally vouch for the prawns and scallops. Service can be slow as the place gets incredibly busy but the dishes are worth the wait. Because it is busy, it can get very noisy so might not be the place for a peaceful romantic meeting. Outdoor seating is` available though adjacent to a busy road. That said, it is well worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank profjoypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
581 reviews
492 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 460 helpful votes
“Excellent place for fish and oysters”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

As usual very good oysters and very good fresh fish that you can even choose on the display. We have never be disappointed by this place where we had numerous meals every time we are in Palo Alto. The food is simple, well prepared, the service is excellent and we can park our car easily on a large parking on the side and the back of the restaurant.
We will return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmLondon845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to The Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing