We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch in a hurry.”
Review of Ming's Restaurant - CLOSED

Ming's Restaurant
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lunch in a hurry.”
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We stopped while traveling in Ca. For lunch. The restaurant was setup nice. Many choices of Chinese foods. They offered from menu as well as la carte. We ordered from the menu due to time restraint, but would have loved the la carte.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    14
    13
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic excellent quality Cantonese cuisine”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I've dined at Ming's hundreds of times and have never been disappointed with their food.

Service is usually very good.

My favorite dishes are: Hong Kong Style fried noodles with seafood (the noodles are wok fried crispy topped with generous portions of seafood), Wonton Soup (the rich broth comes from simmering pork bones for hours), and Chinese Chicken Salad (invented decades ago at Ming's; other imitators from San Francisco to Hong Kong don't usually match the formula of cilantro and Chinese mustard).

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Historytech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFBAY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!"”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

This is simply the finest Chinese restaurant. I live in San Francisco where there are many good restaurants, but I will go out of my way to eat at Ming's. It has a very pretty decor and pleasant ambiance. The food is always the freshest and the finest. The menu is very extensive with many specialities. I try to try new things but have favorites I cannot resist. The Szechuan green beans are heaven, the black bean sauce crab or chicken or cod--wonderful, the vegetable won ton soup is a special favorite. The ginger and scallion steamed fish is amazing. Many restaurants make a Chinese chicken salad but none can compare to this. It is light, fresh, with hints of mustard. There are many vegetable dishes for those of us who do not eat meats. It is definitely a family friendly place. The wait staff is knowledgeable and helpful. I look forward to seeing them. It is also a wonderful place for a private party or special event with special rooms of varying sizes. It is the only place I drink a mai tai. They have a full bar--placed separately from the dining room. They prepare food to go. It is fun to be there for their dim sum service at lunch time and on weekends.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Livelyleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Rude and indifferent service, average food, nice atmosphere.”
Reviewed October 9, 2011

The hostess and servers act like they are doing you a favor. Maybe if your a regular they treat you better. The servers and hostess must be related to the owner because they are obviously indifferent to customers they don't know, and aren't worried about it. If you can avoid this resteraunt. Nice atmosphere, average food, and terrible service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kingleonardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An unpleasant surprise!”
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Someone in Palo Alto recommended this place for us on our last day of a wonderful California trip. Although the service was prompt and the setting very attractive, we had 2 surprises:
1. We were charged extra for the bowls of rice that we ordered! Was NOT part of the entree!
2. The lamb chops were $5 each, with a minimum order of 2. I still can not believe how small the serving was!! Maybe, just maybe 2 bites per lamb chop on a stick. For 10 bucks total! Robbery!? Plus, they were not that tasty.

What a disappointing dining experience to end an otherwise fantastic trip...

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vdoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ming's Restaurant also viewed

 
Palo Alto, CA
Palo Alto, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing