We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Strawberry Short Cake”
Review of Max's Opera Cafe

Max's Opera Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Max's Opera Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 357 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Sandhill Rd
Bad Durkheim, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Huge Strawberry Short Cake”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Nice place to sit outside, green and sunny, good food, nice service. The strawberry cake was far too big. Enough for 3 I would say.

Helpful?
Thank Antonia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    51
    37
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daly City
Level Contributor
210 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Big Menu, Good Food”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

If you are ever at the Stanford Shopping Center there are a few places to choose to have lunch, but we always choose Max's because there is ample seating, service is good, prices are reasonable and the menu is large so that you can find something you can/want to eat on it. Last week I met a cousin from NY who is a very picky eater. I ordered the patty melt which was good, and she ordered a lunch special which gave her two bowls of soup and a kale salad. Neither of us ordered a drink and I took a huge macaroon home for hubby. The macaroon is expensive, but well worth the price weighing in at 14.6 ounces! We weighed it because we couldn't believe how heavy and dense it was. Anyway, the bill was a bit over 30 and with the tip around $35 which I think for a nice setting, good service and good food it is worth it. I think that's about average for a good lunch these days anyway, at least in the SF Bay Area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NancySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
104 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great space, very large portions, friendly service, awful music”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The service was warm but inefficient and a bit clumsy. The space, though, with high ceilings, is quite pleasant. Menu choices a bit limited but everyone can eat here - burger, sandwiches, tofu (Thai peanut sauce), and so forth. Deserts are worth it -- old-fashioned and very, very large portions. Decent wine list, okay beer list. Seated quickly in a comfy booth. I must say that the entertainment - keyboard/vocalist - was painful to listen to. It really detracted from the overall experience. BTW, the rolls were excellent, especially the ones with raisins. You could feast on those alone. Food came out quickly, probably too quick in terms of no time between appetizer and main course. It was poorly timed and watching other tables it appeared that diners did not linger. Quick table turn-over makes sense in this business but we were there later and there was no need for such subtle rushing of a meal. In spite of all this we would come again - not terribly expensive for what you get, everyone happy with their meal - and hope for different entertainment!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Huge portions”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I think that's what this place is known for...you won't go home hungry. My sister and I split the ruben that was really good, but on the greasy side. My daughter loved her sliders.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank chocogm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Ok for a quick bite if it's not too busy”
Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The dishes are ok; the occasional comfort food item is not bad. The service is ok, although the seating hosts always seem to be confused when it's busy. But the desserts make the visit worthwhile.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank craftyphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Max's Opera Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Max's Opera Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing