We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as always”
Review of Osteria

Osteria
Reserve with OpenTable
Osteria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #87 of 361 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
California
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“As good as always”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is a great little ital place that gives everything it can. There are better looking choices on University Ave, but if you want to eat and enjoy, this is the place. Great atmosphere (gee, a bit like italy) and excellent preparations. Good wine list. Take the family or make it a night out with the one you love...you will love the food.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank mike215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    54
    21
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Authentic, delicious Italian dishes with speedy and friendly service”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Our family went with a friend on a week night (Wednesday), relatively early around 6:15 pm without a reservation and was warmly greeted, and seated immediately. (Amy has been trying to get me to go to Osteria with her for years ... and just due to timing or closures never made it until now.)

We ordered for family style dinning. The fresh fruit (season melon) and prosciutto was fantastic. The artichoke bottom with tiny shrimp was marvelous. And the Caesar salad with real anchovies had a great blend of dressing and thin slivers of parma cheese. And we went over the top w/ a starter sized shrimp scampi that was tremendous, we almost ordered another round but our eyes and taste buds were already way bigger than our stomachs!

I ordered the Pappardelle Osteria - large spinach noodles w/ prosciutto, mushrooms and tomatoes to share ... and that was one of the best fresh pasta dishes I've ever had! Wonderful balance of the tomato based sauce w/ the mushroom flavors not over-powering, and just enough Italian ham to satisfy.

Amy's friend ended up ordering the same entrée as she did which was the Tagliarini Verdi Con Gamberetti - thin spinach pasta (we apparently have a thing for spinach pasta) ... and baby shrimp in a garlic and cream sauce. Everyone raves about this dish ... and to be sure it delivers!

I tacked on a classic chicken parmigiana that was fantastic. The chicken breast was super moist and the cheese was like a thin melted layer that accentuated every bite!

We had so much food, we had to get four take away boxes ... and the worst part is we didn't have room for dessert. Well, that was our bad ... and we shall not do that again the very next time I'm back in Palo Alto!

Thanks to the wonderful staff for a fantastic family dinner ... really tasty ... fresh and piping hot ... over-stuffed to the brim!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank changrcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average from every angle!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Average food, average service, average value for money. Nothing really special - nothing also that will make me come back. Sorry. Plenty of other restaurants in Palo Alto to try instead!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yoyo3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
599 reviews
421 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Tight seating”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Had reservations for Osteria and clearly said four adults and an infant. Unfortunately we had to squish into a really small 4 top and keep the baby in the aisle. We had to watch when food was passed to keep the infant safe. We split a tomato caprese and enjoyed it. Dinner entrées met with varying degrees of success. My husband's chicken Parmesan came with veggies instead of pasta and he found that strange. My son only got four small scallops. My dinner special was okay. Not a really successful dining experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ADolores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
720 reviews
380 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 673 helpful votes
“Ordinary but with good service”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Our Irish waiter was very good. Too bad that was not true of the food. It was very old fashioned and not very tasty. Sole had red sauce with a little tang but not much taste. Bruschetta are to be avoided -- too bland. Bufalo mozzarella was spare and bland. Nothing to drink except Italian sparkling drinks -- and wine, with a limited list.

The location is nice, right in the heart of Palo Alto. The restaurant has been around for several decades, and if you want to eat in the style you might have eaten 25 years ago, this is the place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EagleEyeBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria also viewed

 

Been to Osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing