We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mind-blowing brunch experience”

Palo Alto Creamery Fountain & Grill
Ranked #1 of 20 Dessert in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: University Ave
Transit: VTA 35, Caltrain
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
792 reviews
487 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
“Mind-blowing brunch experience”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Caribbean french toast demands a review update.

I expected, from the name, for it to be tropical... But it's not. It's just sweet and banana-y and crunchy and maple-y and soft and warm and delicious.

All right, so it's a little expensive. But coming from the Midwest, which I think must have banished all diners, I'm so grateful this place exists. And a thousand times more grateful that they make and serve that french toast.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ajhorse21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    128
    37
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“not a moooving experience”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

seems like a bit run down diner. has potential to be a fun place to eat. food was mediocre.

Helpful?
Thank dapinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Palo Alto tradition, good comfort food”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

The Creamery has been a great place to eat for decades and the tradition continues. Burgers, tuna melts, shakes, etc are done right here. Breakfast is great too with excellent omelets, pancakes and so on. You feel like you have gone back 50 years here, but the good is excellent.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“The best comfort food around”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I always visit this place when I'm in town. The food isn't high cuisine but they have great shakes, desserts, omelets, and sandwiches. I had the turkey chili and a turkey burger. Both were excellent. In fact the turkey burger was juicy and had excellent spicy seasoning. I enjoyed it very much. The apple pie was a bit of a let down with overcooked apples and soggy crust but I've had better sweets there in the past.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lasrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A roomy, comfortable diner with excellent food”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

The Creamery has been a favorite of my family since our son moved into the area five years ago. We always drop in during visits to the area for tasty food and pleasant service at reasonable prices -- especially welcome in this high-priced area. A meal would typically be about $10 - $15.
The food is simple but well-prepared and the waiters are generally efficient and friendly. My family's favorites are the delicious breakfasts and outstanding milkshakes and pies.
A nice gift for milkshake lovers is the Creamery "shake token" -- a wooden coin costing about $6 and redeemable for a milkshake. Both the downtown location at 566 Emerson and the Stanford Mall location (which has a pleasant outdoor terrace) are about equally good. (On our last visit in Dec 2011, shake tokens were sold individually downtown, but only in little bags of five at the mall location)

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank globecrawlerMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palo Alto Creamery Fountain & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Palo Alto Creamery Fountain & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing