We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Welcoming Brunch Experience”

St. Michael's Alley
Ranked #45 of 361 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Burlingame, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Welcoming Brunch Experience”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My son discovered this gem and with my other son, we had brunch there ... and we were all pleasantly glad to have found this place! It is not in a noisy commercial place, there was outdoor sitting and nice inteior atmosphere. Service was great as we were told there was 30 min wait but we actually got seated right away. Street parking was easy. We had a carafe of Mimosa -- which was a carafe of orange juice and a whole bottle of champagne and you mix it yourself - we all left happy!! We each had a different dish so we got to try each other's food so I can say that food is all great! We agreed that it is a place we will visit again - next time will be dinner!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RossSit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    31
    22
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always A Great Experience”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

St. Mike's is our perennial date place for the past decade. We love the food, the atmosphere, the service and the owners. They come out with a new menu every quarter (in addition to their daily specials) and it's always good.

This isn't a cheap restaurant, and we generally just go here for dates and out-of-town guests. But when people want a recommendation on a great restaurant in Palo Alto, this is easily the first one on our list.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sal_Minella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Way overrated though service was A+”
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Can't say enough about the top quality of the service. The staff had a perfect sense for timing and was thoroughly professional and warm.

However, the food was quite marginal (cold Somosa appetizer, mediocre organic green salad, tough New York steak though sauce was ok). Wine list was good.

We sat in the front room as the dining room was full. The booth in the front room was a good idea but it was too tight for two 6 foot men.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rtkidd88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Arena, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to eat and drink”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have been to St. Michael's Alley about five times. We found it by mistake. What a wonderful find. The food was amazing, the people were even more than amazing.

The first time we were there my wife had just finished her appointment for stomach cancer at Stanford. We wanted to eat, but given her condition she was not very hungry. We decided to split a meal and apologized to the waiter for ordering only one meal. We gave him a thumb nail sketch of what had happened. Well the staff treated my wife and I like gold. Their treatment of her made a crummy day much better.

While my wife was in Stanford hospital (72 days the first time and at least 2 more total months over the next 8 months) we went to the Alley many times. Every time was a fantastic experience. I brought friends with me to the restaurant and it quickly became one of their favorite places to eat in Palo Alto.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank matts633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Simply elegant”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

When I last ate there it was a small elegant restaurant. It has moved and is bigger. But the food and experience are simply elegant.

Helpful?
Thank Rubylaserjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Michael's Alley also viewed

Palo Alto, CA
Palo Alto, CA
 

Been to St. Michael's Alley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing