We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Spalti Ristorante

Spalti Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
Spalti Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #178 of 356 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ash
San Francisco
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We enjoyed our dinner at Spalti. The service was great and the ambiance was nice. They make their own bread and bring out warm bread to the table. The food was tasty. We were celebrating our daughter's b'day. Spaliti's brought out a tiramisu cake piece to help us celebrate. The cake was delicious. Would recommend this place if you are looking for a relaxed evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Funtravels13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    20
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
236 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Six Thrilled Diners”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We were scheduled to dine with two other couples tonight at St. Michael's Alley, which had nowhere to sit as we waited for a table. Our guests, from the area, thankfully suggested Spalti. It was a terrific experience. Dishes enjoyed included Fired Calamari, New England Clam a Chowder, Filet Mignon, Halibut, Cannelloni, Spaghetti Bolognese. Great dishes, wonderful service. We enjoyed lots of Llama Malbec wine. Reasonable pricing, nice lighting and comfortable, too. Recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aowats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is my favorite restaurant in Palo Alto, and probably in all of the bay area. Excellent food, great decor, and friendly service. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJU
Level Contributor
469 reviews
333 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Old school service and menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

And that is a good thing. California restaurants seem to be engaged in a battle of who can twist ingredients the most. It was refreshing to find this little restaurant in Palo Alto that serves Italian food that you remember as a kid. The linquini with clam sauce was perfect, the portabella appetizer was really tasty and the service was great.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
86 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The Friday night open tables should have been our clue”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

My husband and I walked down California Avenue on a Friday night at about 7:30 pm during one of our numerous visits to Palo Alto, and saw two open tables for two on the sidewalk that looked very inviting. We were seated immediately, and service was very good. The food was mediocre at best... The open tables on a week-end night should have been our first clue. The tasteless white bread and olive oil should have been the second. There were a meager four small broken slivers of beets in my arugula/goat cheese salad, so I asked for more. My sea bass was overcooked and didn't taste like sea bass. The bill for the two of us for dinner plus two beers was $70. + tax and tip We will definitely not go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sydeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spalti Ristorante also viewed

 
Palo Alto, CA
 

Been to Spalti Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing