We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Tacos for West Coast”
Review of Tacolicious

Tacolicious
Ranked #53 of 361 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
NYC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent Tacos for West Coast”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Coming from the east coast, I was looking forward to having some savory tacos that I hear so much about on the West Coast. These tacos are pretty good for the east coast but I was expecting more out this place. The complimentary chips were very thick and soggy. The tacos were generally good, if I had to choose I'd recommend the barbacoa taco the most.

Service was very attentive and good and the space is very big so it's good for big groups.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank benlin1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    34
    11
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hip and overpriced - better places nearby”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

It's hard to like Tacolicious. It's like a upscale, new style Chevy's. They have drink specials and loud music and an industrial vibe.

At best, if you're a twenty-something with a pile of money and friends, this is a good place to think you're eating well and make some noise and have a few drinks. The food isn't bad by any means.

However, this place is in the middle of some really good mexican food, and mexican food both for upscale consumption and by mexicans. If you want a great Taco, try El Grullense in Redwood City (any of them), or Los Gemelos ( tortillas made by hand ), or La Bamba. None of these places are in downtown PA, though.

For upscale mexican with drinks, I think Reposado around the corner is much better. They have a wide menu, and can execute complex dishes like Mole better, and their drinks are more pleasant. It's a bit more expensive, though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bbulkow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb service; not traditional enough for my liking”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

6 of us ate at Tacolicious 2 weeks ago. I can't say enough about the excellent wait staff, however I was hoping for more traditional/mainstay Mexican food. Lamb tacos?? The fish taco was breaded, fried - disappointing. I also prefer white flour tortillas (yeah, yeah - I know corn tortillas are what we are supposed to like....) and that wasn't an option. The guacamole was fantastic.
The tables have stools, not chairs with backs, and this was uncomfortable.
My friends enjoyed the food more than I did and we had to wait a long time to get in, so clearly it appeals to many - just not me. I would not choose to go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MT
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great happy hour specials”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Casual dinner with friends at Tacolicious was very enjoyable. We stayed on the bar side of the restaurant so we could take advantage of the happy hour specials ($5 each for a variety of drinks and/or appetizers). The nachos were interesting (contain vegetables like carrots and cauliflower!) but really good. Awesome gaucomole. Chicken and carnitas tacos also excellent, served with 3 different sauces. Empanadas good. Nice atmosphere and good service.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TMG25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Another fabulous Gluten Free eatery”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Tacolicious has a high end Mexican fusion menu. Try the beet salad and order at least two tacos. The tacos are soft shelled and the presentation is wil mild medium and hot sauces. Very colorful presentation. The crowd is pretty young, mostly twenty-thirty patrons. The staff was very friendly and attentive. Expect a line on Friday evening but it will be worth it. The overall feel of the place is Euro-bistro with a high ceiling, open architecture and tight spaces. The staff had Gluten Free knowledge and the meu was very GF friendly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tacolicious? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing