We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Lunch”

Howie's Artisan Pizza
Ranked #58 of 356 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newcastle, England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Decent Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We were around the area after traveling to see Goggleplex, decided to stop at Howies Artisan Pizza for a pizza lunch, we were seated promptly since the restaurant wasn't that busy. I found the menu to be very limited for pizza choices, they wasn't anything that stood out, which is surprising since the restaurant is located in an ideal, busy area with a lot of passing trade.

I decided to go for 'The Works', the size of the pizza wasn't as big as I expected and the toppings wasn't great, the pizza base was good and well cooked, nothing new or exciting but the food filled a hole.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sami331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    20
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, super people, good value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We love Howie's food and staff.
It's a lively place, but not too noisy.
They have indoor and outdoor seating.
The food is good quality, great salads, decent pricing on wine bottles, family friendly, but without families (us) still great. You can eat at the bar & watch the sports, take a table, or enjoy the outdoors.
You can stroll through the mall before or after you eat, or just get take out.
We've been here many times and enjoyed many things, and take-out, on our own and with friends--always great!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank AmoebaCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palo alto, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Works + potato pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

If you've never tried potato pizza get yourself to Howie's and order one to eat in or take out. Be prepared for a creamy, rich experience. The bacon bits add just the right counter balance.
If you are looking for something more traditional order The Works with caramelized onions.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank online101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Thin Crust Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We enjoyed our favorite potato and bacon pizza at Howies on a Sunday afternoon. This was a repeat visit for us. The restaurant is located in a busy shopping center but if you go in the back of the center, we were able to find parking. The service was fast and pleasant. The pizza is our favorite but the appetizers have been good. We enjoyed the polenta last time. Also, for desert, the soft serve ice cream is very good. They had a coffee flavor soft serve during this visit that was very good with their chocolate sauce. We really like this restaurant.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AaronI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
161 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Wait staff extremely inexperienced, on site management "don't care" attitude.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We just returned from dinner at this restaurant (have been here several occasions). The server at our table spilled 2 glasses of soda on my 10 year old son, and 10 year old niece. This was not a near miss, it was a total drenching on my son's shirt. It was clearly apparent that the server was not experienced with the serving tray of drinks. When I accompanied my son to the restroom to attempt to dry off - the manager (who had heard the commotion and was nearby when the drink tray fell to the floor) - averted looking at me - apparently he didn't want to acknowledge what had just occurred nor offered any assistance whatsoever.

We went to a nearby store to purchase a shirt for my son - my wife had to approach the manager directly and complain.

We had to flag down a different server when we were leaving; at this point we had no idea what the manager was going to do - he simply told my wife early that he would "make it right" . When we received the check, at that point we saw that he had comped the meal.

Based on the negative reviews, the consistent theme is the poor management and service. It's too bad as the food is not that bad, but poor service trumps food any time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ro953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Howie's Artisan Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Howie's Artisan Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing