We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vietnamese Fusion of the Very Best Kind”

Tamarine Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 356 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Tasso & Webster
Description: Tamarine is a contemporary Vietnamese restaurant that features the light but flavor-intensive culinary delicacies of Vietnam. The restaurant offers a menu based on small plates, promoting the Vietnamese tradition of the 'shared' meal in which food is shared and enjoyed with those close. Tamarine's small plate entrees are enjoyed with the pairing of a variety of aromatic, flavor infused rice, designed to be mixed and matched to create a truly unique flavor experience. Along with culinary delicacies of Vietnam, the restaurant showcases the works of emerging artists from Vietnam and other Southeast Asian countries. Semi-annual exhibits will close with a cocktail event to auction the art. Proceeds will be donated to La Maison Chance, an orphanage in Saigon, Vietnam.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Vietnamese Fusion of the Very Best Kind”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Dinner at Tamerine is an explosion of taste and sensory pleasure that goes far beyond the typical Vietnamese restaurant. This restaurant pulls in the French influence on Vietnamese culture to produce dishes that are a joy to see and taste. You won't forget the meal as you reflect later, except that you may wish you'd had the ability to eat more than one meal at a time. Try the duck if it's available, This is a restaurant that knows and respects this ingredient.

Excellent wine list. I plan to go back the next time I'm in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    113
    23
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
1 review
“Excellent quality of food and service”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The quality of the food and service are excellent! It is pricey than other restaurants but worth it!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lizie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjose
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We loved the fresh and innovative menu.

Service was friendly and helpful with suggestions and guiding through the menu. We'll be back soon!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sanjoseirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Highly overrated place”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We saw good reviews and decided to go there for a team lunch. We ordered 6 different dishes and nobody liked what they ordered. They had very limited selection and only 1 chicken item for $24. Dude, you got to be kidding me. When the item came, it had only chicken and nothing else at all. It was supposed to be marinated as per the description of dish but it hardly was. It was too dry and tasted like they did not marinate it at all and just put a spoon of the marinating liquid after cooking. The mango juice (today's special as per the waiter) was plan canned mango juice with ice and it costed $10. My total bill was close to 40 and I believe it was not even worth 8$. None of us (we 7 went there today) will go to this place again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
109 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A real Gem!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This place is good in so many ways!
The menu is fantastic - it makes life difficult because there are so many things that look so good.
The food is fantastic- every dish we had was tasty - no one had a single complaint
The service was excellent- Not over the top but there was always someone available
The seating was comfortable . It was busy the night we went and another thing that really impressed me was although one of our party was over an hour late there was never any pressure to order , the staff kept smiling and patiently waiting.
THe starters were great as were the mains but make sure you leave room for their deserts which were excellent. I will come here again given a chance!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GastroNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarine Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tamarine Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing