We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Palo Alto
Post
Inbox
Search

“New Orleans style food with a hint of California ”
Review of Nola

Nola
Reserve a Table
2
Tue, 2/18
8:00 PM
OR
Order Online
Ranked #26 of 423 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hamilton
Transit: CalTrans Palo Alto. And a late night cab stand on the weekends.
Description: Nola will transport you into the heart of the Quarter! Authentic folk art and the largest Hurricanes in town will get you ready for a bayou blowout.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is in New Orleans, Creole restaurant but has a tapas atmosphere. Many of the meals are smaller dishes which can be shared. One person in my party had a regular meal, but the portion was actually small. The food is good, not great but fairly flavorful. The atmosphere was nice and the service was really good - actually its a 3 star but the service makes it a 4

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Omni99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 273 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2020 via mobile

came here expecting really good and flavorful food but not really. friendly staff a bit slow for not having a crowd though. ordered beignets they were just ok. also i ordered chicken and waffles didnt have no flavor at all but a strong taste of the thyme or rosemary they use. husband ordered jambalaya he enjoyed his and it was pretty spicy. maybe i will maybe i wont give this place a 2nd chance. nice decor too by the way. but i really hated the bathroom especially right next to the kitchen.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Ashley87H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2019

The food is good, with a wide range that will satisfy most picky eaters. The drinks are appropriate for a New Orleans Louisiana restaurant (N.O. La) - all the stress of a family gathering will be sooth'd away by a good meal that everyone can enjoy together. Keep the topics happy and stress free and you'll have a blast.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank MLF-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2019

I look back at the last review I wrote, "better than it has any right to be", and it just isn't that way now ( 2019 ).

Ten years ago, this place had what I would call a true new orleans flair. There were a few items on the menu that were uniquely new orleans like the Clover Burger ( for those who have had the uniquely tasty burgers from Clover, cooked under hubcaps ).

However, this is not a great time to be a restaurant in Palo Alto. Rents are extraordinary. Staff costs are very high - which is to say, you can't afford to pay staff well enough to live nearby, so you get journeymen.

All of this is reflected in the menu going downhill. Specalties like the Clover Burger are gone. The crawfish special, when I had it recently, was a very small portion of the smallest of crawfish. There was a great grillman there, and the grill special was always made with care, no longer.

Did I mention how popular it is? Add all that to the fact that you need a reservation and can't walk into the bar anymore, unless it's past 9pm.

The restaurant still looks good, and is still fun, and if you're 25 years old the bar has a great vibe, but it's gone to what you might expect: a poor California copy of new Orleans, instead of something special.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank bbulkow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2019

Been here a few times. The food is always good and the price isn't too bad considering the location. Tried the Jambalaya, gumbo and chicken and waffles. All pretty good. The atmosphere is good for date, happy hour, family dinner. Don't worry about a wait.. you can always hang out in the bar for a drin. The floor plan is neat with a waterfall center downstairs.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stevetulate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nola also viewed

 
Palo Alto, CA
 

Been to Nola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing