We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Evvia

Evvia
Reserve with OpenTable
Evvia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 355 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: University
Description: Sister restaurant of Kokkari, Evvia has been serving beautiful and elegant Greek cuisine since 1995. Fabulous fish, savory roasted meats, and sun-soaked vegetables are jazzed up with a spritz of lemon, a little olive oil, and herbs. There is perfection in simplicity.
Tracy, California
Level Contributor
532 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Had seen this place on PBS's 'Check Please Bay Area' and as we go to Stanford regularly, we thought we would give it a try. Well worth it. I had the roast lamb sandwich (does not describe it) and my spouse had skewered chicken and both were excellent. The bread is very good and the sauces made a real difference. The service was good and friendly. This is a busy place and there is lots of noise. It is part of the experience. Free parking across the street along with valet. We liked it and will be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maconthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    111
    38
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California, United States
Level Contributor
99 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious food with a Mediterranean flavor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Try the moussaka. It's delicious! Service was also very attentive. My only complaint was that it was a little pricey.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

The reason that it's so difficult to get a reservation at Evvia is because this restaurant is consistently excellent. Evvia's offerings, from the bar and wine list, to the appetizers (mezeths), main courses, and finally the desserts are all deliciously memorable and well worth the price.

After a perfectly prepared rye Manhattan straight up, our favorite meal at Evvia includes: a taramosalata, melitzanosalata tzatziki - served with house made pita bread - as a starter or mezeth; a Greek or Horitaki salad, the mesquite grilled lamb chops, a great bottle of wine from Evvia's extensive cellar, and, if we have room (which we always do), the Evvia Sundae.

I doubt if you'll be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank genew013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service, noisy at peak times”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We have patronized this restaurant since it opened about 20 years ago. The food is consistently of high quality, there are excellent choices for vegetarians, meat eaters, and fish fans. The service is always great. My only complaint is that the noise level gets unbearable at peak hours; we try to come either late for lunch or early for dinner to avoid the worst of the noise.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank califbikegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Mediterranean food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Place is super busy, hard to get reservations but worth it. The only downside they know they are good and staff can have an attitude ..

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Evvia also viewed

 

Been to Evvia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing