We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, food hit or miss, slow service”
Review of Hobee's Restaurant

Hobee's Restaurant
Order Online
Ranked #33 of 411 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wife went to Stanford and loves this place (nostalgia). We ate here twice during our stay. Food is OK and the atmosphere is nice.

Lunch:
Came in for a late lunch after arriving in town. I ordered a quesadilla, which had good/fresh contents but really could not be eaten like a traditional quesadilla. Basically a tortilla folded over with the stuff inside - not really a grilled, melty-cheese type quesadilla I was expecting. It comes in a whole wheat tortilla, I asked for plain flour, got a whole wheat - not a difficult request but they got it wrong.

Breakfast:
Came in for breakfast on our way out of town. I had an omelet with chicken/spinach/artichoke which was pretty good. Wife had basic eggs with side of blueberry coffee cake which she really enjoyed.

As others have stated service is slow even when the place it practically empty. I had to walk up to pay for lunch because we never got our check. The employees seem more interested in socializing with each other. Server did check on us once and brought drink refills.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DonLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward F, Public Relations Manager at Hobee's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Don:

While I'm glad you enjoyed the atmosphere, I'm disappointed that your service was not better. Please be assured that your comments will be reviewed by our management team.

I'm confident that your experience will be much improved during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 175 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2019

We went for a late brunch and it was nice they were open late(2ish). However, the service was incredibly slow and they pretty much ignored our table. I could sometimes catch the manager's eye and then he would summon our waiter. Food was also slow
to arrive and there were maybe 5 tables occupied in the restaurant. Hash browns tasted like leftovers. Coffee cake was as good as usual. I still love the ambiance here.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BarbaraBurbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2019

Nice casual restaurant located on the "main drag" - El Camino Real. Free parking next to the facility. Good for lunch. Would be good for families. Reasonable pricing with generous portions.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carlin35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward F, Public Relations Manager at Hobee's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2019

Thanks very much for your kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2019

The coffee cake is a favorite, along with the big egg dishes, sandwiches, vegetarian chili, oatmeal “bar” by morning, salad bar by afternoon.
The decor is the same despite the quiet university town turning into a fast paced Silicon Valley ... it’s nice to be able to dine at a restaurant that still retains what the area used to look like and be.
They have updated the menus... to include trendier foods. Yet their Florentine scramble is still the best and egg whites can be substituted for regular eggs at no charge.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marcopolopaloalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward F, Public Relations Manager at Hobee's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2019

Thanks very much for your kind - and detailed! - review. You clearly know Hobee's. We're grateful for your support!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2019 via mobile

We took our two grandchildren for lunch. The children are promptly given a happy face fruit plate, where the eyes are a half of a grape on a circle piece of banana, the mouth is a piece of cantaloupe. Our meals were delicious , and I had the special sweet potato hash ( with fried onions, bacon, mushrooms) topped with two eggs and the blueberry cake bread. Service was excellent, and great prices

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank bill8111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward F, Public Relations Manager at Hobee's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2019

Bill, thanks for bringing the grandkids in to Hobee's! We stand by our motto that "Kids Are Cool at Hobee's" and love serving the little ones. We're glad you enjoyed your meal too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hobee's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hobee's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing