We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best thick crust Pizza in the peninsula”
Review of Pizz'a Chicago

Pizz'a Chicago
Ranked #85 of 361 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Restaurant details
California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best thick crust Pizza in the peninsula”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Having lived in Chicago for a number of years, I have been a big fan of its signature thick crust style of Pie. Very few places in the Bay Area are even close to getting it right. Thick crust does not automatically imply more "bread". The crust, sauce, ingredients and cheese must be in the right proportion as well. I do suggest one alteration, which the restaurant is happy to satisfy, and that is extra sauce, less cheese (in consideration of age). For me, this makes for the best tasting thick crust Chicago style pizza I have had in a long time (outside of Chicago).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stoprr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    27
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice comfy food”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

When away from home in a place you don't know its good to see a sign for a casual place that looks inviting. This fit the bill nicely. The people there were very friendly and helpful with a family not familiar with the menu. While the deep dish pizza was not exactly Lou Malnati's, it was good. We all enjoyed our meal and it wasn't going to break the bank!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Litty8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Patxi's Chicago Pizzaria versus Pizz'a Chicaga”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Chicago deep-dish pizzas can taste very different.

The atmospheres and decorations in each restaurant are drastically different.

I prefer my pizza like I first had it in Chicago at Pizzaria Due in midtown Chicago. None of these restaurants equal that.

Which California location makes the best?
Which has Chicago-like service... read on...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WestCoastUSADad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level 6 Contributor
497 reviews
333 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Low end”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We ordered a few pizzas for delivery from here. None of them was particularly good. Bland sauce, minimal toppings and air blown dough. Frozen would have been better.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gl0bal_guru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not Chicago Style Pizza”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I was staying at a nearby hotel and saw the restaurant as I was driving to it. I lived in Chicago for 10 years and don't miss much about it except the pizza, so it peaked my interest. I ordered their basic pizza and picked it up, waiting for some time after they said it would be ready. Please was full of Chicago memorabilia, but pizza was nothing like a Chicago Pizza, except that it was pricey. Felt manipulated and ripped off. Pizza was OK,but not Chicago Style. There should be a law.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizz'a Chicago also viewed

 

Been to Pizz'a Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing