We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good prices, good food, okay service- an Americanized version of Cuban food”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Bodeguita del Medio
Ranked #31 of 360 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Chico, CA
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good prices, good food, okay service- an Americanized version of Cuban food”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My fiance is from Cuba and so he liked the food, but was disappointed in not "real authentic" food. They had items by name and style, but he felt it was very Americanized. We did like our food. Flavors were great. Staff was so so. When we came in a girl was on the phone at the hostess desk and kind of just ignored us. Waiters took a long time to come around, but I'd go back. Prices were very good. We ate lunch, spent $75 which was 2 cocktails, an appetizer, 2 meals, and a dessert.

Had Dulce Leche Cocktail (okay) , Mojito (okay- they make theirs less sweet than many places), Croquetas (so good), Arroz Con Pollo (decent), Bistec de Palomilla (very tender meat), and Flan (good).

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ctunnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    69
    14
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Awesome mojitos, and great food. They have one vegetarian main dish option, but it is amazing, so no complaints from me!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank hikeTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford, California
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Mojitos!”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I like to go here with friends for light meals, and mojito. It also nice for dinner. Great Cuban music.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank francina l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cuban food!! And Gluten Free offerings!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is an awesome date spot. The bar is lively, and often packed, but the restaurant is quiet and tables well spaced to enjoy conversation. There's a diverse selection of rum cocktails, some twists on the traditional, and some fun takes on more current trends. After dinner, you can have fancy flights of rum varieties sipped straight up. All the food is incredible. You cannot go wrong. We don't go near cigars, but they do have them...

The waitstaff was very helpful with gluten free offerings, but for the most part, most of the menu is gluten free.

Make a reservation, a week or two in advance.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank american_foxhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountain view, ca
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This restaurant gets it right.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place has an ambiance embodying "warm, classy, vibrant and authentic." The cocktails are seriously worth it - the Cuban sidecar is better than we've ever had anywhere else, and the mojitos are popular for good reason. The bar is very lively and active on weekends - the low warm glow from the lamps and candles, the colorful walls, and the drifting white curtains give the whole place a romantic and cool vibe. Their food is excellent too: I particularly recommend the paella, ropa vieja, conch chowder, and cubano sandwich. The spicy dipping oil for the bread is also fantastic. Lunch has a much more light and businessy vibe, but dinner is definitely more romantic and sociable (our favorite time to come is dinner). It gets noisy but you can still definitely hear everyone at your table. I commend La Bodeguita for getting the "authentic Cuba" vibe without veering into Disneyland-fake territory.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bodeguita del Medio also viewed

 

Been to La Bodeguita del Medio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing