We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Mojitos!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Bodeguita del Medio

La Bodeguita del Medio
Ranked #33 of 344 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Latin, Cuban, Caribbean, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stanford, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Mojitos!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I like to go here with friends for light meals, and mojito. It also nice for dinner. Great Cuban music.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank francina l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    61
    14
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodside, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cuban food!! And Gluten Free offerings!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is an awesome date spot. The bar is lively, and often packed, but the restaurant is quiet and tables well spaced to enjoy conversation. There's a diverse selection of rum cocktails, some twists on the traditional, and some fun takes on more current trends. After dinner, you can have fancy flights of rum varieties sipped straight up. All the food is incredible. You cannot go wrong. We don't go near cigars, but they do have them...

The waitstaff was very helpful with gluten free offerings, but for the most part, most of the menu is gluten free.

Make a reservation, a week or two in advance.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank american_foxhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountain view, ca
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This restaurant gets it right.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place has an ambiance embodying "warm, classy, vibrant and authentic." The cocktails are seriously worth it - the Cuban sidecar is better than we've ever had anywhere else, and the mojitos are popular for good reason. The bar is very lively and active on weekends - the low warm glow from the lamps and candles, the colorful walls, and the drifting white curtains give the whole place a romantic and cool vibe. Their food is excellent too: I particularly recommend the paella, ropa vieja, conch chowder, and cubano sandwich. The spicy dipping oil for the bread is also fantastic. Lunch has a much more light and businessy vibe, but dinner is definitely more romantic and sociable (our favorite time to come is dinner). It gets noisy but you can still definitely hear everyone at your table. I commend La Bodeguita for getting the "authentic Cuba" vibe without veering into Disneyland-fake territory.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stevling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Mojitos!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Conveniently located in Palo Alto's "second" downtown, this place is great. Their mojitos are really good, their staff is very attentive and the food nicely cooked. We had their plantains (a must) and coconut crusted snapper- definitely recommend it. We went on a Friday night and they had awesome live music playing as well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CJK38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“My husband loves the cigar room, I love the live music and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This place is fun! I feel like I'm in a different country. The music has been exceptional when I've been there on a Saturday--with patrons happily singing along. We enjoy having a smoke in the back--such as throwback to the past. The food is excellent too.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rubylaserjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bodeguita del Medio also viewed

Palo Alto, CA
Palo Alto, CA
 

Been to La Bodeguita del Medio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing