We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best Place to stay in Palo Alto, CA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Palo Alto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Palo Alto
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Modesto, California
1 review
“Best Place to stay in Palo Alto, CA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I travel often and when I go to Palo Alto either for Medical needs, business, or even pleasure I always chose Americas Best Value Sky Ranch Inn. The service there is incredible and the Management is always willing and able to help me in any way they can. Best Customer Service EVER! I cant imagine them treating anyone rudely they are the sweetest people.
Not to mention they always have the best prices that cant be beat. I appreciate the fact that they keep the atmosphere calm and there is no inturuptions when trying to work or relax.
This location is perfect for going shopping at the Standford Mall and is very close to both San Jose and San Francisco.
The rooms are quaint and WiFi being free with the room is another definite plus. Also, I love the free parking and if I have any questions the Front Desk is always willing to help me find directions or point me out in the direction that I need to go.
DEFINITELY A PLACE I WOULD RECOMMEND and will remain my destination stay number one choice when in Palo Alto, CA.
Hope your stay is as nice as mine always is.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinGuy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    27
    11
    3
    7
See reviews for
13
8
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

First, I have to admit I didn't stay with the hotel. I booked and canceled after talking to their service people over the phone. It might be a good hotel, but their attitude shocked me.

I booked a room with them for the first time. I called them to verify the room because I booked it online, and asked whether I can make any change to the arrangement. I spoke with two person, and this was the rudest customer service I have ever encountered. The first person turned me down, and when I tried to confirm his answer, he transferred me to another person. She told me to talk to the website where I booked the room (which is not the way things are supposed to work out), refused to listen to my explanation, said "No. Bye." and then hung up the phone.

Happily I booked the hotel with a free cancellation policy, which I did instantly after talking to them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvipaloalto, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn - Palo Alto, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we appreciate your doing so. We use your comments to further train our staff and to ensure that we exceed expectations. All our service staff has been made aware of your experience and feedback. The service you described is very uncharacteristic of our staff, and we apologize if events transpired as you described.

Please also note that certain online sites do not allow changes/cancellations and require 100% deposit at the point of reservation. Unfortunately we could not find a "Sophie C" in our reservation history to discern, but this would be a likely situation where our staff could not adjust. Please feel free to contact me personally if you would like to discuss in further detail.

Thank you again for your feedback, we sincerely hope that you would allow us another chance to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palo Alto hotels

Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Just wanted to share my experience with this particular ABVI location in Palo Alto. Check-in's are at 3PM. As an out of towner, with flights being what they are these days, many times I've gotten there before 3PM.....They always have a smile and a room. In the event, there isn't one it's not long before they make one available. I appreciate this and value that atention to customer care. Thanks ABVI, Palo Alto!! Just saying.

Room Tip: I like the top floors for many reasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The room at this place is ok, nothing fancy, just a place to sleep. However, when it comes to service, expect the worse from the managers. They are clearly not human, just troll that just came out from under a rock or sewage waste plants some where. My son was getting brain surgeries (two separate procedures) at Stanford. We are from Los Angeles, too far to travel between dates, so I booked a range of date 7/11 to 7/31 at this place. Man do I regret it!!

On the surgery date, they conveniently kick me out of my room so they can get a higher price booking (I found out later that there was a tennis tournament at Stanford). They are absolutely heartless to have done what they did without feeling any remorse. Basically right now, my wife and I are homeless while during my son's surgery.

The worker at this facility are nice, hard working people..I am not posting this review of their services. However, I only choice 4 letter words for the management. They are not human, heartless animals to have done what they did. I hope everybody reads this review and avoid this place like a plague. They do not deserve your patronage!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DavidTPaloAlto_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvipaloalto, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn - Palo Alto, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
We understand that this must be a very emotional time for you. Having been a partner with the surrounding hospitals for over 15 years, we pride ourselves on providing a stress-free stay. From our investigation, it appears that you adjusted your stay upon check-in due to another housing option provided by the hospital. Thus, your stay was shortened as you requested, and the room was made available for another guest to reserve. The hospital housing dept also confirmed that you were placed elsewhere upon departure. At no time would we "kick" a hospital guest out to get a higher rate, and the hospital staff can also attest to this reputation. Moving forward however, a hospital guest may now only adjust the duration of their stay through the hospital housing dept and not our front desk. We feel this will prevent any future misunderstandings, especially during such a stressful time already. Thank you for your feedback, and we wish your son a very speedy recovery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We needed a place to stay after the June 30 pro soccer game at Stanford (great game and fireworks show!). We booked at the last minute and found this relatively affordable motel located at the south end of Palo Alto, on El Camino Real. Our room was nicely furnished (including a small fridge) and the place was immaculately clean. The lady at the front desk was pleasant and well organized. Although located along a main drag, our room was quiet. I would recommend booking a room like ours, at the back of the motel away from the street, if possible. An excellent restaurant for breakfast - Hobees - was located almost next door. This made up for the only shortcoming I noted in this motel, the advertised "continental breakfast" seemed to be 2 packaged "pastries", 2 small bottles of orange juice and a coffee maker for making coffee. (The room was booked for 3.)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank centralcoastguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

No frills, clean place to sleep. Had to find a hotel for an unexpected overnight last minute trip. Only hotel close to Stanford with a vacancy. Older hotel single level noisy a/c and refrigerator.

Room Tip: No Pool,or fitness center, tight small parking lot. Rooms in the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tattoou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambria, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We were put in room 100 right next to the managers office, even though we arrived at 3 p.m. before the motel even began to fill up and requested a quiet room. We went to bed at 10p.m. But were unable to sleep until 11 p.m. because every time some one went into the managers office, there was an obnoxious alert bell that rang to alert him. We heard it, too. Loud and clear. The last one was at 11 p.m. Then the alarm clock in the room, which we hadn't touched, went off at midnight!
The last straw was the continental breakfast: 2 cellophane wrapped fat-filled cheap pastries. If you want to sleep, this is NOT the place to stay.

Room Tip: Don't let them put you in Room 100, right next to the managers office!!! It is noisy and you wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moosekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvipaloalto, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn - Palo Alto, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we appreciate your doing so. We use your comments to further train our staff and to evaluate our Inn and make necessary changes. Please note that we do discount this room for being close to office, and in a busier section of our Inn. That being said, additional measures have been incorporated to improve the noise level in this specific room. We are also sorry that you did not appreciate our complimentary in-room SvenHard pastries. Management has begun to research alternative options to better serve a wider range of our guests. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
0.1 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 stars 688 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
#20 of 27 in Palo Alto
3.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
1.0 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#7 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 stars 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Stanford Motor Inn
Stanford Motor Inn
#18 of 27 in Palo Alto
3.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
#8 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Palo Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Palo Alto

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - Palo Alto
Address: 4234 El Camino Real, (aka Sky Ranch Inn), Palo Alto, CA 94306-4404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Palo Alto 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Palo Alto hotel is 100 percent smoke-free. Business travelers and family vacationers alike are sure to find our spacious accommodations, attentive service, and ample amenities to their liking. Each of our guest rooms features free wireless and high-speed wired Internet access, microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, hairdryer, flat panel cable TV, HBO, ESPN, iron, ironing board, clock radio, free local calls, and wake-up service. Complimentary tea, coffee, packaged danish, orange juice, and bottled water are also in every guest room. Children 11 years of age and under stay free in parent's room with existing bedding. Sorry, no pets allowed. At Americas Best Value Inn Sky Ranch, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Palo Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing