We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bugs in the lettuce”
Review of Tava Kitchen - CLOSED

Tava Kitchen
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Bugs in the lettuce”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Great concept and then first few bites were tasty. Then I found one gnat. Oh well it must have landed on the food after I was seated. Then another and another.

Let the server know and he starts to remove the lettuce from my plate while offering to replace it. No money back option.

Helpful?
Thank threekidsinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food fast.”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Ate here for the first, but not the last time. Great for vegetarians, gluten free eaters, meat eaters and people just generally hungry for something quick, tasty and different.

Helpful?
Thank the_faceman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Unique, fast, and delicious”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A guilty favorite of mine is Chipotle burritos... this place is like the Indian food version. Quirky, unique "burrotis" fuse the best of Mexican style fast food with health(ier), organic, Indian-inspired fave flavors. It will make any purist cringe, but for me it totally hits the spot and makes the perfect dinner for the Caltrain ride home on a late night. I love this place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
629 reviews
423 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Good vegetarian options, good quick service”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Good fast service. Nice choice of toppings and sauces. A rice bowl was more than enough for me and my wife. The vegetarian selection is good. The drink portions are large. Basically, a meal for 2 with drinks is $10 - a good deal. The food itself was great. We had the vegetarian rice bowl & put every vegetarian topping on. The hottest sauce was spicy but tolerable, but the hot green peppers were too hot for me. They have a good selection of sauces that are milder.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MihirMeghani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Roti Wraps”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The best thing about this place is the SUPER fresh naan roti wraps. They take a cute little ball of dough and smush it in a big hot plate (think Chipotle style). You then choose your fillings and they wrap it up. The wrap is delicious and a little chewy. We love this place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tava Kitchen also viewed

 
Palo Alto, CA
Palo Alto, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing