We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!”
Review of The Zen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Zen Hotel
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2012

On the advice of Tripadvisor, we stayed at the Zen Hotel a couple of years ago when my son was visiting colleges. Last month, we were back for 4 days to drop the kid off at Stanford, and our stay at the Zen was fantastic!

The whole family was along, so we booked a suite. Too many of the chain places slap the label "suite" on any room that slightly larger than standard and has a sofa and a bed in it, and those kinds of suites don't provide the privacy (aka, the freedom for Mom to go to bed early while everyone else stays up to watch a movie) that traveling families crave. The Zen offers a full bedroom suite—the bedroom had 2 queen beds and a door—while the spacious living area had a sofa bed, comfy chair, dining room area w/ table and chairs, and kitchenette. The room, on the ground level, had 2 doors, one that opened to the parking area and the other that opened to a lovely little garden with additional seating.

Although we were on street level, we were not bothered by noise. The hotel was busy with other families dropping their kids off, yet we never had trouble finding a (free) parking space or using the free wifi.

Since we are moving the kid across the country, we shopped in California rather than shipping boxes or paying to bring extra luggage on the plane. The Zen has a coin-operated washer and dryer, which made it easy to launder those new sheets and towels before the big move. The front desk staff was happy to make change.

The hot breakfast buffet is included in the room rate. The breakfast room was crowded at times, but the buffet was kept well stocked. Free cookies in the afternoon too!

The room and public areas were clean. The staff was friendly. The hotel is 2 miles from Stanford, and there is a Walgreens across the street. Easy drive to downtown Palo Alto or Mountain View, where there are plenty of options for restaurants, groceries or other shopping.

Thanks for helping make our trip easy! We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsJRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricberr, General Manager at The Zen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

I'd like to thank you for being a returning guest of The Zen Hotel and for composing such nice and detailed review. We really appreciate when our guests are able to share their experience, which we find extremelly valuable and helpful to our efforts of promoting our business and services. I am glad you enjoyed your stay in our one bedroom suite and that you plan to stay with us on your next trip to Palo Alto.

We look forward to keep welcoming you back!

Best regards,

Ricardo Berrospi
General Manager
THE ZEN HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

261 - 267 of 347 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was my second trip to Palo Alto, but my first at the Zen. This place is truly a diamond in the rough. The exterior is tidy, well kept (very clean), with a peaceful feel. The rooms are a good size and well equipped with everything a traveller could want. Breakfast was great, much more than typical hotel fare with fresh baked goods and hot fresh eggs, oatmeal and fruit. The location is great too. Just off El Camino and within a short drive to Stanford, downtown Palo Alto, restaurants and shopping. We will definitely stay here again!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank kmbcropper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Although located on a main street (which my room was on), it was very quiet. The room was clean, well decorated, comfortable. The price was a little steep, but compared to other hotels in the area this was reasonably priced. It is more of a "motel" style but FREE parking. Decorated with zen like stones and bamboo out front. All in all, very comfortable. Very clean!

Room Tip: Would advise a room NOT on the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pc_seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had a nice one night stay here. They call it a hotel, but the rooms are set around the center parking lot, so it looks like a motel. Our room was small, but adequate and clean. When the grounds, carpeting, and shower head is immaculate, it's a good sign thath it's a clean, well kept hotel. the hot buffet breakfast was very good with everything you may want. The only thing is we kept bumping our feet on the platform bed. At least they padded the corners! I like the little extras like free wifi, and complimentary water bottles. Get a room that's not on El Camino Real for no traffic noise.

Room Tip: For less traffic noise, get a room that is not on El Camino Real.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluemermaid25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is a very comfortable hotel. It looks like a renovated old style motel that has been transformed. Very clean and comfortable. I enjoyed the sound of the fountains outside and the park like setting right outside our door. We stayed in a second story room that had a little balcony with chairs. The continental breakfast was very good with good Starbucks and Peets coffee provided. We will stay there again when we return to Palo Alto.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

For a city motel, the Zen Hotel is very special. They do not cut corners: Peets coffee in the rooms in ceramic mugs; glass in the bathroom; a varying hot breakfast each day; grounds are immaculate and appealing everywhere on the premises; personnel are gracious and helpful.

The bed was somewhat too soft, but the room was spacious and included sitting room furniture and room to entertain a few guests.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMichaelKirchberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This was our second stay at The Zen Hotel. Last time we were there 2 years ago and we thought it was very good, but they have made many upgrades and we were even happier this time. It's very clean, the beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are nice. There are little balconies on the upstairs rooms in the back and patios on the lower level rooms with fountains and beautiful landscaping. They also remodeled their lobby and have a larger breakfast area. Breakfast options: coffee, tea, juice, milk, bagels, muffins, oatmeal with raisins and brown sugar, scrambled eggs, bacon, potatoes, pancakes, apples, bananas, hard boiled eggs and yogurt! Lots to choose from!

Room Tip: Both times we stayed here we stayed in the back section. The first time we were downstairs, and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Newcombers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricberr, General Manager at The Zen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Welcome back! I was very interested in your perspective since you got to experience the differences between what The Zen Hotel offered two years ago and what we offer now.

Your review says it all. We made improvements in many aspects of our operations since our major renovation in 2010. Since then, we continue to make changes and fine tunings to cater to our guests' preferences. One of our advantages is that because we are an independent property, we have much more flexibility than a franchise to make improvements as a result of our guests' feedback.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Ricardo Berrospi
General Manager
THE ZEN HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
0.4 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
1,027 reviews
0.7 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto
#10 of 27 in Palo Alto
627 reviews
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palo Alto
3.0 mi away
Nobu Hotel, Epiphany Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zen Hotel

Address: 4164 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306-4075
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#5 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
#5 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range: $133 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Zen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Silicon Valley, The Zen Hotel offers daily full hot breakfast buffet that includes freshly made smoothies, Peet's and Santa Cruz Organic coffees, Mighty Leaf teas, sausages, bacon, scrambled eggs and much more. L'occitane toiletries and free true high speed Internet are standard in all guestrooms. Minutes away from Stanford University, Shoreline Amphitheater and tech companies such as HP, Facebook and Google; The Zen Hotel offers great value and is a fantastic choice for business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Zen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing