We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not quite as good as being there, but awfully good!”
Review of Pastis

Pastis
Ranked #29 of 356 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not quite as good as being there, but awfully good!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

After spending a month in France, mostly in Paris, I came home to Palo Alto and was yearning for the "neighborhood bistro" experience. Pastis delivers with traditional fare, well prepared at decent prices. They offer a wider variety of dishes and a great atmosphere - my only complaint might be that the portions are too American - too large - so it's hard to compose a meal that samples the multitude of good things on the menu!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kantarjiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    25
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wish I could give it more stars”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Very friendly place with great casual style service and typical French bistro ambiance. As others have said, native French speakers were indeed dining here. A few sidewalk tables add to the Parisian style.

The food was typical French bistro fare, such as onion soup, mussels with frites, and duck breast. However, based on the reviews, and being #3 in Palo Alto on TA, with some 60% saying Excellent, and only 2 negative ratings, I was hoping for more something Gourmet. However the food was just ok, not wonderful.

Nothing was wrong with any of anything, it just didn't meet my expectations. Our meal the next night at Evvia blew this place away, but of course at much higher prices. This is a fine place for a moderately priced neighborhood bistro meal, with a pleasant dining atmosphere. Just don't expect too much from the food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gemutlich2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Another home run for Pastis”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stopped in to Pastis just after 6pm hoping to get a table at this delightful, busy bistro. We were offered bar seating for 2 and it was a delight. We could see all around the restaurant, and hear the staff banter back and forth (en Francais) AND see all the meals coming out from the kitchen to be served. My friend ordered the special of the evening, beef bourgouignon, which was tender and rich and delicious; I ordered a daily special of fresh pasta with even fresher sea scallops, lemon and herbs. Both meals were perfectly paired with a Burgundy for the beef and a Sancerre for the pasta. We have always had A+ experiences here at Pastis, whether it is for breakfast, lunch or dinner. It is well worth adding to your favorites list as well.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bensmom59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
242 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Wonderful Choice”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Our Palo Alto friends suggested we eat here, as they are the local experts. Great choice. Lots of choices, including traditional dishes such as escargots, onion soup, etc and a handful of specials. Dinner for five tonight included no appetizers and only one shared desert. The "mains" included mussels (ordered 2 different ways), Sea Bass in a tasty white wine sauce, rack if Kamba, and a iamb shank that looked like it could amply feed a platoon. All very much enjoyed. Nice, informal atmosphere, with caring service.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank aowats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,796 reviews
1,023 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 589 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere and good food”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This is an ideal place for a leisurely meal. Service is good but you do not feel rushed. There is outdoor seating as well as indoor and the place is ideal for eating a good lunch and watching the world go by on the bustling California Avenue. Sandwiches and salads are good and I suspect other dishes are too from the appearance of them. In summary this place has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and food is excellent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank profjoypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pastis also viewed

 

Been to Pastis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing