We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, not so good ambiance”
Review of Oren's Hummus Shop

Oren's Hummus Shop
Ranked #3 of 357 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Israeli
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Palo Alto, California, United States
Level Contributor
110 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food, not so good ambiance”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Great hummous, large portions, whole wheat pita, but the place is so crowded that I don't even try to get in anymore.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    94
    28
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
336 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“top choice good location”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

You might have to wait to get a seat on weekends, but definitely worth the wait. The best deal is the 3 sides with pita bread. You can pick from a wide selection of sides. They also have a choice of whole wheat or white pita bread which is a nice touch. Food is fresh and the taste is excellent, highly recommended!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler0632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Magical Mediterranean!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stopped in for a quick lunch - was almost deterred by the line extending beyond the door... but once we found out we'd be seated quickly, decided to stay - and it was AWESOME. Food was first-rate, hummus was like none-other, food came quickly, huge/perfect portions, attentive service, fresh & warm pita.... just ALL excellent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EllenOutWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
310 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT...even if your not a big hummus fan”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Have been here several times. The food is excellent. I am okay with hummus...but at Oren's I really really enjoy the hummus. The food quality is fantastic. Lots of options.

Fairly small footprint...so the tables are a bit tight....you may be shoulder to shoulder with others. But the food is worth it and you won't notice.

They are very popular, and their can be a wait. So I'd suggest you show up off the peak dining hours.

Enjoy

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank kh57ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great food terrible service”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I've been here about 4 times in the past year. Today's visit was not memorable -- we had to wait 45 mins for a table which I am Ok with. Once seated no one came to take our order for another 20mins; people seated after us had their orders taken and food delivered whereas it took another 30 mins from ordering for the food to start appearing and that too after we had to ask multiple times. No complaints about the quality of the food and it's consistently great. They need to fix process efficiencies as there were about 14 waiters and only two people were running around and taking orders and serving food. If you have 3 hours to kill a must visit place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JetBackPack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oren's Hummus Shop also viewed

 

Been to Oren's Hummus Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing