We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy - next time will try shashuka” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oren's Hummus Shop

Oren's Hummus Shop
261 University Ave, Palo Alto, CA 94301-1714
650-752-6492
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 345 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Yummy - next time will try shashuka”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We got take-out from Oren's at the advice of our niece who lives nearby. The take-out menu is more limited than the dine-in, so we had chicken and vegetable kebabs with quinoa and Israeli salads, traditional hummus with pita, carrots and eggplant (not the babganoush). The place was packed on a Thursday night, but our order was taken immediately by courteous staff and delivered quickly. Since the take-out orders are placed near the kitchen, we were able to see lots of yummy dishes coming out, including shashuka. Portions are generous; four of us shared 3 kebabs. We will definitely go back next time we're in the area, to see what else we missed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nubusniesstrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    77
    25
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, CA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Oren's offers great food and service. The restaurant is too small for the demand - long waits and big crowds.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AOB_MountainView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Simply very good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We went to Oren`s a couple of times during our holiday in SFO. Very good food on both occassions. Loved their pita bread, hummus and the spicy accompaniments. Energetic and polite service. Its a pity that the dessert didnt match upto our expectations as compared to the other courses - there is scope to improve on that count.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AshishNichani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Good Israeli food.
Nice portions of food that is fresh and well prepared

alway crowded but worth the wait

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank allan1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Misses the mark”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I went specifically because of the reviews on TA. I love Israeli/Middle Eastern food, and the "hummus test" is the first measure of the quality of a restaurant. While the hummus is quite good, Oren's is too expensive to justify a trip across town. For example, the hummus classic is $7.95, and comes with a bit of pita (mine was wet/soggy on about 20%). My falafel where too oily, and lacked subtlety. The Tabule was also had too much olive oil. I would have rated it lower were it not for great staff and a great energy. Perhaps that's because it's got a VC/innovator's feel (this is palo alto after all), but credit goes to management for hiring good people.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank singtraveljunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oren's Hummus Shop also viewed

Palo Alto, CA
Palo Alto, CA
 

Been to Oren's Hummus Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing