We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the university”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stanford Terrace Inn
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Agree with recent reviews describing as quirky with funky purple lights in garage and overall 50's vibe. The decor and buildings are dated and dark. I love plants but there are too many just packed together to be very pleasing or aesthetic. The room was large and reasonably comfortable. Its a superb location for access to Stanford and the restaurants/Farmer's Market on California Avenue. The breakfast was average food. Rather small and crowded. I might stay again because of location but not with any enthusiasm.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGE2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 195 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

so other reviews called this quirky and I agree but find it pleasant in a world of prepackaged sameness. The building is a bit aged and the rooms which face into the courtyard get light in the window all night but: the vast overflow of plants everywhere including the underground garage and around the pool in the patio is relaxing. The location is perfect and the breakfasts are very nice. The rooms vary a lot from one to another and can be quite large and offer kitchenettes. Free parking and wireless. It is overall very comfortable and quiet. I found the staff very helpful and friendly. I stay here when I have the chance and have been coming since 1982.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lasrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

...proximity to Stanford. We were there for a 25 year reunion, and were able to stroll straight on to the campus. We last visited 25 years ago, and suspect nothing has spent on the property during that time. Breakfast was OK, and the room spacious. Don't attempt to negotiate the car park after a beer or two!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I recently stayed here on a business trip. The Stanford Terrace has a funky vibe, very "50's Vegas". They have flowers, trees and other vegetation all over the place (especially in the courtyard), which does add a nice touch but is also a bit overwhelming. Parking is abundant and gated, which is nice from a security perspective. There is a small fitness room w/o much equipment, and a decent-sized outdoor pool. It can be a bit of a maze getting to your room if you have a room at the back of the hotel, but that was more of a weird thing than an annoying thing.

The rooms were quite nice, very large and with a microwave and mini-fridge. They could use an update in terms of decor, but overall I was happy with the space and the amenities. I didn't hear any street noise or noise from other rooms during my stay, which is always good. The breakfast buffet was underwhelming but had the basics (cereal, oatmeal, breads, etc.)

The Stanford Terrace is conveniently located near the university and close to most of the big tech companies on or near Page Mill Rd. For Starbucks junkies, there is one right next door and an easy walk away.

I don't think I will necessarily seek this hotel out on my next visit to Palo Alto, but I'd have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Counterweight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

For the cost of this place, even if the rooms are not updated, i would have expected good customer service. First, the place: i'd say that the rooms were spacious, with a kitchenette but not that comfortable: floors were cold, the lighting was dim. But the biggest complaint i have is the noise. I was on the first floor, and i could hear hallway traffic all night, as well as occasional noise from the guests upstairs. And then, in the morning, the adjacent room's TV was heard starting at 6am, it was a spanish novella type show so lots of shouting and drama coming thru the wall. So the when i'm checking out, I mention to the person at the desk the noise issue and he says he's sorry but the he'll check with his manager for compensation. I hear nothing for 2 days, so i call back. Again, the person at the front desk (different person) says she has no idea of the problem, the person i talked to is not there, please call back he is back on. i try calling back again 3 days later, and again am told the 1st person i talked is not there. None of these people take ownership to resolve my issue, even if its to tell me that there's nothing they will do. This is poor customer service and i don't have much reason to ever come back. Not to mention they also have a demanding reservation policy in that I had to pay 1 night's stay just to hold a reservation and the cancellation policy was 72 hrs. One positive note: they do have a nice complimentary organic breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BLTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I was really surprised at how overpriced all of the hotels were in palo alto so I chose this one as it was on the "cheaper" side but in the thick of things. The room was enormous and I liked that it had a fridge and microwave. The decor in the room is a bit outdated, but fine. The sheer number of plants is a bit overwhelming. They could easily get rid of half of them and make it look a lot nicer. If this wan my only option in my price range, I would stay again but I would make an effort to look everywhere else first. The staff was super friendly and it is quite easy to get to Stanford though.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biztraveler30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions. But no more. The room prices have doubled over the last couple of years with no corresponding improvement in quality. At almost $300 a night for a room, comparable hotels in the area are now less expensive and substantially better hotels are only a bit more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hap459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
1 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
1.5 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
415 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
#15 of 27 in Palo Alto
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#9 of 27 in Palo Alto
670 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
#20 of 27 in Palo Alto
180 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Terrace Inn

Address: 531 Stanford Ave, Palo Alto, CA 94306-1113
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range: $259 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanford Terrace Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the street from the Stanford campus, you'll find the Stanford Terrace Inn, an oasis of unexpected elegance. In the midst of Silicon Valley, you'll discover a tradition of old world hospitality. Here, Tuscan murals adorn the walls, evoking a timeless sense of luxury. Our secluded garden setting and sun-drenched patio makes it easy to unwind. Or perhaps relieve the stresses of the day in our heated pool. Inside your over-sized guest room, you'll find all the modern conveniences. Complimentary cable TV, high-speed Internet access, and a desk large enough to get some real work done. All at a price that's pleasantly surprising. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Otel, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Stanford Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Terrace Hotel Palo Alto
Stanford Terrace Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing