We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weird hotel, but great location and some positives”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stanford Terrace Inn
Ranked #24 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Weird hotel, but great location and some positives”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The good: huge rooms, great location, good parking, very decent breakfast

The bad: rooms and hotel in general need updating, photos make it look better than it is. There are hundreds of potted plants all over and water everywhere. Lobby smells funny. Overpriced too. Feels like a weird hotel in China.

Just too expensive for what it is.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelAlotCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    42
    53
    33
    20
See reviews for
33
22
24
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philomath, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I was staying here for a meeting - not my choice. It was really a strange place. The birds in cages made me uncomfortable. I felt sorry for them. The lobby was way too perfumy smelling and my room smelled like my great-grandmother's farmhouse basement with the dirt floor -- like something in the root cellar was past it's prime. My room was so noisy. It was close to an ice machine so there was a lot of traffic and the stairs went right above my head. I did not get much sleep. Luckily it was only for two nights. I would not stay here again. Most hotels will give you a free toothbrush if you forget yours -- here they charge you $4. The sign about not going in the pool if you have diarrhea was just bizarre. The creepy factor was too high.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianna97370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the room when I checked in. The free wifi functioned perfectly in my room. The staff was friendly and I loved the free breakfast. Although this is an old hotel, the management has made it a comfortable and very pleasant base for me when I am in the Stanford University vicinity.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 68PeterK68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is the creepiest hotel that I have ever stayed in. The place is filled with over grown plants and there are bugs and standing water everywhere. We actually had a "bug zapper" on the floor outside our room. If you book here, you will regret it. A voice in your head will say, "I should have listened to that review that I read." I swear that that plant from Little Shop of Horrors is lurking somewhere!

Hotel desk staff was not truthful with us when I called 2 days before and asked about a room, they said they had none, which I knew was not true since I was on their website and booked after I got off the phone with them. They charged us $239 after telling us it would be $229 and the guests in front of us checked out at $108.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mgmcdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palo Alto hotels

Beijing
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Stanford Terrace Inn has a great location if you are visiting Stanford (right opposite the campus) and the rooms are large and comfortable. Overall, the hotel itself is of average quality and is somewhat overpriced (but then again so is the whole Palo Alto area so it is not just this hotel). The waffle maker for breakfast is a fun twist, especially if traveling with children, and the breakfast itself is generally good (the coffee is somewhat disappointing but there is a Starbucks next door). The hotel has a pool which seems to be seldom used as the water is cold and the pool itself is small. One nice touch is the back section of the hotel has a lovely little garden area which is a great place to sit and read or do emails in the afternoon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmmahony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

It is amazing what $249 will not buy in Palo Alto. Although the location is convenient to everything Stanford, the overall maintenance of this property is very disappointing. A toilet unable to flush toilet paper? Seriously? The staff are friendly, and the room was clean, but the hallways are overstuffed with potted plants, and a parrot cage off the elevator was disconcertingly creepy. I would not recommend this location, nor will I stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel in the region.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

When you have to have a sign in the bathroom, asking guests not to flush toilet paper, to me that means a major overhaul is way overdue.
Otherwise, the staff is friendly, and they provide one of the best breakfasts we got in several different motels in California. Also free wifi worked.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Visitante_Chileno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
1.2 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#9 of 27 in Palo Alto
657 reviews
1.0 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Nest Palo Alto
The Nest Palo Alto
#18 of 27 in Palo Alto
55 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Keen
Hotel Keen
#16 of 27 in Palo Alto
199 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stanford Motor Inn
Stanford Motor Inn
#19 of 27 in Palo Alto
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Terrace Inn

Property: Stanford Terrace Inn
Address: 531 Stanford Ave, Palo Alto, CA 94306-1113
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanford Terrace Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the street from the Stanford campus, you'll find the Stanford Terrace Inn, an oasis of unexpected elegance. In the midst of Silicon Valley, you'll discover a tradition of old world hospitality. Here, Tuscan murals adorn the walls, evoking a timeless sense of luxury. Our secluded garden setting and sun-drenched patio makes it easy to unwind. Or perhaps relieve the stresses of the day in our heated pool. Inside your over-sized guest room, you'll find all the modern conveniences. Complimentary cable TV, high-speed Internet access, and a desk large enough to get some real work done. All at a price that's pleasantly surprising. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Stanford Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Terrace Hotel Palo Alto
Stanford Terrace Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing