We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel, walking distance from Stanford and beautiful town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Palo Alto
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This hotel exceeded our expectations. Great rate; we were in for a weekend wedding nearby. The hotel was clean, friendly, perfectly located within walking distance to Stanford University. Fresh coffee in the lobby, a really nice bar, great bathroom and the best smelling shampoo/bodywash/soap I've ever had a hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Karen S.,
Thank you for staying with us, I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed everything about our hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Warmest Regards,
Tanya F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (663)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 663 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

Staff is very helpful and professional. Hotel is what you'd expect for 4 stars, lovely with a bit of luxury. Join Starwood Preferred Guest and get nice extras even if you aren't a frequent traveler. 3 minute walk around the corner and under the tracks and you're in downtown Palo Alto. Drawbacks: $10/day paid parking (however, all parking in downtown Palo Alto is 2 hour limited or paid) and $10/day for internet. You can book it for great prices through Hotwire and Priceline, especially on weekends because it's a business hotel. At the moment it's the only 4* hotel on either of them so you'll know what you're bidding on.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Terry1981,
Thank you for sharing your experience with the traveling community on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel, the members of our team, and our proximity to all that Downtown Palo Alto has to offer. While we do charge for guest room internet to ensure that it is fast and reliable for our guests, please note that wifi is complimentary throughout the lobby and in the business center.
We hope to serve you again soon,
Tanya F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This used to be a good hotel but they have downgraded the beds so they are now cheap and hard as rock and the staff don't care about anything. Also the floor is stained and warn. Not worthy of the Westin name.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Matthew848,
I am very sorry to hear that our service and product did not live up to expectations and would appreciate the opportunity to discuss. Please feel free to contact me by emailing or calling the hotel so that we can address accordingly.
Thank you for the feedback as it will only help us to improve.
Warmest Regards,
Tanya F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

While the staff were pleasant and the hotel basically OK, the Westin is not worth the 450 dollar plus midweek rate that it charges business travelers and loses it on the details. Minibar - empty (you need to ring room service). Elevators - frankly scary (on two occasions I was in one for 30 seconds and about to press the alarm before it started moving). My room had two double beds in it: on some level, not a problem, but it was just... odd. No bar service until 4.30 in the afternoon - you have to ring the restaurant. Paid wifi does not work in the restaurant, so if you want to avoid international roaming charges, you can't work in there. It just felt like they were trying to keep staff and certain small costs down, which you don't want to be conscious of if you're paying that much. Not for business travelers.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robcwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear robcwebb,
Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. Please rest assured that I have shared your concerns with our team and we will address accordingly. Our elevator technician has been dispatched and will fix any problems. I am sorry your time in the restaurant was unproductive. We do offer complimentary wireless in the restaurant, bar and pool area which is accessible with a username and password and I will ensure all associates are sharing this information. Our Westin Refreshment Center on Demand Program is intended to allow guests more flexibility and enables it to be used as a refrigerator as well. Please feel free to reach out to me so that we can make amends.
Warmest Regards,
Tanya F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel to be close to the Stanford University Campus and was pleasantly surprised in the location and surrounding area. This is a typical Westin with great service. The room was very well appointed and roomy. It was a SPG labeled room.

Room Tip: ask for an SPG room - assuming you are a starwood preferred guest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myrna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear MS219,
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your room, our hotel and the surrounding area.
We look forward to hopefully having you back,
Tanya F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Like every Westin we have ever stayed at, this one also proved to be very nice. The location is perfect, within walking distance to the cute strip mall (Town & Country) and to downtown Palo Alto. We parked for free on the street because it is a safe area. Our son was not given a kid's fun pack by the receptionist as other reviewers mentioned -- not sure if our receptionist was having a bad day or just didn't remember. The rooms are very elegantly adorned and the bathroom is absolutely gorgeous! There is also fresh coffee and tea in the lobby in the morning which I greatly appreciated. Would definitely stay here again next time we travel to Palo Alto.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank cvliang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear cvliang,
Thank you for sharing your experience via Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your visit, including our rooms and bathrooms, location and added touches such as coffee and tea in the morning. I was disappointed to hear that your young one did not receive a Westin Kids' Club bag and will address with our team to ensure consistency in the future.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Warmest Regards,
Tanya F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Call me cheap or call me thrifty, but for what we paid for this room, it had BETTER be decent. It was quite nice, although we were at the far back of the property, and the hallways are more confusing than a halloween corn maze. Beds are awesome. Bath was exquisite, though the shower was a just tad cramped (with the sq feet in the bathroom, making the shower stall a bit larger wasn't an issue.) Seperate tub was a nice size. Staff was very nice to work with and did their best to assure we were happy. Overnight parking was $10, and valet was $15...so we figured for the extra $5 it was worth it to have them park our car; when you see the underground parking you'll probably agree to let them deal with it.
We stayed here because a family member was in nearby Stanford Medical Center. We paid $135 for a Saturday evening, $255 for Sunday (same room), and couldn't get Monday because the hotel was booked. If we'd been able to keep the room, the price rose to $419. The $255 I can understand and might grumble about (but would pay), but there's no way I would've stayed here for the $419 price quoted for Monday. I understand Microsoft vendors stay here often and get a great corporate rate. Yay them and boo me.
With a walking mall just down the street, we chose to have dinner in one of the many local restaurants rather than at the hotel. (Another in our party tried it and said the food was good, and moderately priced.) We talked to a Palo Alto cop who assured us this was a safe neighborhood for walking to local shops and nearby Stanford Mall.
Didnt use the wifi because it was $15/day and I have 3G in my tablet. Didnt try the pool due to chilly weather but some brave souls were out in it and it looked well-maintained. Various water features around the property give a nice, relaxing, backyard sort of feel. Despite the higher-than-I'm-used-to rate, I'd stay again.

Room Tip: Quite, relaxing property. Great weekend rates, but find someplace else during the week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Doug R,
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel with the Trip Advisor community. We are pleased that you enjoyed so many aspects of our hotel. We understand that the rates in the area can be higher than many are used to and are pleased that you were able to take advantage of our lower weekend rates. We hope that your family member is fairing well.
Warmest Regards,
Tanya F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
0.2 mi away
Nobu Hotel, Epiphany Palo Alto
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
#15 of 27 in Palo Alto
765 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#4 of 27 in Palo Alto
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
1,028 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 10 in Menlo Park
952 reviews
2.2 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Palo Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palo Alto

Address: 675 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301-2301
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palo Alto
#7 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range: $268 - $803 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Palo Alto 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience California at The Westin Palo Alto hotel, adjacent to Stanford University, and within walking distance of some of the best restaurants, shops, and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Palo Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palo Alto Hotel Palo Alto
Westin Palo Alto
Palo Alto Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing